¡Bailamos!


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Thought I´d write one more update today (and will also attempt to load pictures, although I´ve tried twice and the connection seems to be too slow...), because I woke up earlier than some people and am done eating breakfast (free buffet in the hotel). Today´s plan is buying juice for the week at Cijmey, the supermercado, lunch with the group at the Peruvian spot we went to last weekend, perhaps some phone & internet, and maybe a nap to make up for my 4 hours of sleep. 😊

Last night was incredibly fun! As I think I said, it was Alejandro´s birthday, so the plan was to celebrate that. We were supposed to meet at Hornito´s, the pizza place, at 8:30 for supper, but the combination of trying to coordinate a huge group and it being Peru (although most people are actually usually on time with our group), half of us were there at 8:30- very hungry, as we hadn´t eaten for 8 hours by the time we ordered- and some others came at 9:15. The Peruvian crew, however, appeared as we were about to leave at 10:30 or so... apparently they (meaning mostly Alejandro) pregamed longer than planned. So, we turned right back around, sat for a bit (they hadn´t eaten supper yet, and we were perusing the fresh fruit juice cocktail list... most looked better on paper as they were solid sugar, it seemed, but the peach juice-rum-smoothie was pretty good), and then headed out to the discoteques, as Isabel was itching to get dancing (I have never met anyone who loves to dance more than Isabel)!

This was SO much fun! We went to 3 different discoteques, and each was distinct... the first was packed with a younger crowd, lots of salsa and popular music, and strobe lights (my favorite one, too). Second was smaller, with 2 floors and a classier feel, and a bit more laid-back, and third was a packed room with college-age chicly dressed dancers, and really cool jungle decorations. The music never stopped, and I knew some of it from Taricaya playlists (the salsa version of "I Am... I Said" is incredibly popular everywhere!). At 2:30 am my feet and legs were killing me from nonstop dancing (but I did get a second wind from being tired- I´m accustomed to going to bed at 9!), so some of us walked back to the hotel (with no incidents,

Advertisement



Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb