Lares trek and machu pitchu


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco
August 7th 2012
Published: August 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!

So about a week since I last blogged - apologies I wrote 2nd of September on it meaning August!

Anyway so day after my meeting I went on a trip to the sacred valley and ollyuntambo. The valley was made up of lots of inka ruins - houses, terraces ect and also over 5000 tombs built into a mountain wall! We then moved to ollyuntambo which had a huge inca ruin at the back which we climbed. The city didn't look like a city t start with as you drove up to it it looked like a wall but it had like a secret road to enter it. It was a bit of a stressful day as it was very expensive and we had to buy food from this very expensive place but it was nice to see some ruins before machu pitchu. We then had one night in cusco before leaving to get towards machu pitchu - ollyuntambo. We stayed less than 24 eases as we had to ready for the bus the next morning to take us to the starting point for our treks. It was time to say goodbye to my group for a few data as they began the inka trail and did the lares trek. I got on the bus ad none talked to me! Luckily when westopped at themarket a few people talked to me! Yay! Later I found out that half the group were from aprevious group so new each other and the other half travelled with someone so I was kinda on my own. The first day walking was alright lovely views and I was walking at the front at a good pace. We got to camp Whic was already set up for us and I shared a tent with a lovely Australian lady. The food was nice but with lack of toilets - occasionallyunjust a plastic bag, In a tent, I didn't want to eat too much ! I put so many layers on but I was still freezing and desperate to wee so I had to brave theweather outside! As Ihotly out I realised that the tent had frozen ice on it :/ trying to go to the loo in a dark cupboard was not fun with all My layers on too!

After a very long and cold night with less than 2 hours sleep it was up at 6.30 to have breakfast and get ready for the worst day of trekking 😞i suppose because I was dreading it so much that didn't help. After about 15 minutes of trekking I noticed my breathing was awful. After a stop and then another walk I collapsed onto the side of the mountain I started to have an asthmaattack which also turned into a panic attack making it worse. After trying to catch my breath with lots of inhalour puffs I started to walk again, my leader took my bag and told me I shouldslept the donkey take me but I was determined. After lots of stops and what seemed like forever as the group were waitingfor me I had to give in. The donkey took me about an hour and a half up. So deliriouseBay this time with the heat too. I walked thr last 100 metres to the top of the hill and then back down the otherside. After sleep outside while I waited for the others had lunch and trekked the last 2 hours to get to camp. The second nightscamp was ment to be colder but it felt warm as we had hot water bottles made of plasticbottles. After a slightly longer sleep of like 4 hours it was the final day - thank god. 3 hours of trekking down the side of a mountain and we had reached our final lunch stop. I felt waves of sickness so when the arrogant American girl whicH I didn't like decided to do the speech in Spanish I had to rush to the bathroom butluckily wasn't sick lol! A hour on the bus and then 2 on the train. I think we were put in first class as we got fancy snacks and leather seats. After an early night I had to get up at 4 the next day to catch the sunrise at machu pitchu. Absolutely stunning ! Lovely place to visit and can't believe how perfectly it isstill in tact. I made it round most of the tour however i bailed o. The sun gate as it was an hour andis bit walk and my legs felt so bruised besides it would probs of taken me like 2 hours. I started to walk on my own when I saw someone from my original group - yayyyy! I walked to the inka bridge thencaught the bus with my orginial group to get some lunch. Was so happy to see them again and had genuinely missed them ! We had to wait a few hours for the train, and I had only eatten nachos all day we started on the alcohol. Some were a few tipsy to say the least for the train but Istopped drinking as I had had a dodgy tummy for days. With 30 mins to go on the longest and bumpiest and most certainly not first class train I manged to throw up 😞 early night last night has not cured my sickness and tried to go for lunch with the others but ended up getting a taxi back to the hotel and being stuck here on my own! O well ag least I had time to write this! On a night bus to arikipa tomorrow so hoping I'm better ! Only 9 days to go now, gone so quick but sadly when I'm ill just wish I was home!

Sorry this whole Blog is basically about me being ill !

More pictures to come wifi is slow so hard to upload pics.

Hope everyone is okmiss you all lots and see you soon!!!!

All my love Em xxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb