¡Feliz Cumpleaños Ninos!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco
September 2nd 2011
Published: September 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

September 2nd
I was up in time to say goodbye to Vivi this morning and then it was off to classes again. At 3 this afternoon I met Maria Jesus to buy 4 fairly good sized cakes to feed the 80 children that will be at the birthday party today. Once a month both the boy´s and girl´s orphanages get together to celebrate all the birthdays from that month so sometimes Aurora Andina contributes and buys the cakes. Everyone was so excited for the cakes when we got there and we had chosen ones with animal figures on the tops of each which was really cute for the younger kids. I helped cut the cakes while some other women served the pieces and eventually I got a piece too, and it was actually really good cake. After the treats someone turned up the music and I danced with the younger girls (the boys didn´t want to dance of course) for a little while before they headed outside to join everyone else on the playground. I helped some little girls across the monkey bars at least 20 times, and by helped i mean carried with them just moving their arms, and then I helped some girls try to do pullovers on the bars. Of course they had no clue how to do them and didn´t help me push them over the bar at all, but it was new to them and they loved it! It was a long day today playing with the kids so when I got home I just watched some movies and then went to sleep.


September 3rd
I felt quite lame all day today. I spent almost the whole day on the internet, only breaking once for lunch. But I did some more blogs (to catch up from my last part of my journey, the overland trip) and I uploaded about 400 pictures that I´ve taken to an online website just to make sure I don´t loose them. I finally got off for dinner around 6 and then I was supposed to meet a friend in town who had been on the overland trip but I couldn´t find her in the main plaza and there were a bunch of creepy men hanging out so I eventually gave up and went to hang out with some friends I had met at the Loki hostel last week. One girl I got to know pretty well from last weekend leaves tomorrow afternoon so I will go back to say goodbye to her.


September 4th
I slept in a bit today for the first time since arriving in Cusco which was nice and then I went to town to say goodbye to my friend. After she left some other people from the hostel were going to visit the chocolate museum so of course I joined in. It ended up being a tiny little place with just a bunch of facts on the walls and they offer classes to learn how to make chocolate (but they are very expensive), but it was actuall very interesting and informative. They also have a small menu of drinks so I ordered a hot chocolate. It came with hot milk in a pitcher, delicious melted chocolate in a small bowl, and an empty mug for you to mix the two yourself. It was incredibly good, I might have to visit this museum again before my time here is up... I just hung out tonight at home, watched a bit of TV and went to bed a bit later than I should have since I have to get up for school and work tomorrow, oh well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb