Carnaval


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Sacred Valley
February 18th 2007
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today me and my friend Molly went to Pisac on a local bus to see the market and the carnaval celebrations that we going on. It was an hour bus ride to get their and cost us 2 soles. The bus was packed so we were pretty lucky to get seats. The drive through the sacred valley was just beautiful.
When we got to Pisac the sight was amazing! The main square was packed with people of all ages...most of the armed with water ballons and silly string. I wasn´t a crazy fan about the water ballons...the locals were relentless. They´d attack anybody weather you were armed or not and they weren´t afraid to aim for the head and face. Needless to say i was drenched in a short period of time but all I could do was smile and go with it (haha carnivale!). Molly bought a can of silly string and got revenge for us. It did make them think twice before throwing at us.
The locals were dressed in their traditional costumes and there were dancers and singers. Not to mention food all over the place that looked delicious but Iplayed cautious and didn´t sample much.
The markets were incredible! On every street out of the square little booths were set up and people selling art, textiles, jewllery, clothes, souvenirs and crafts (amoung other things). I definitly did some shopping and now have some neat pottery and art. My barganing skills are amazing and day by day, my spanish is picking up a little more. Molly is great to have around because she´s fluent so she gets me by.
The drive back to Cuzco was crazy! The bus was probaly meant for 25 people and I´d say there were 50 plus. I was standing and squashed right against the door in the front. I was sandwiched in so tightly I didn´t really have to hang on because there would´ve been nowhere for me to fall. I was pretty happy to get off the bus and back to Cuzco.
I actually cooked dinner for myself and then we went out to a club called Mama Africas. It was pretty cool and I salsa danced until the sun came up this morning. Tonight we´re in for a long bus ride to Lake Titicaca but I can´t wait to see it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1005s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb