Sick


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Ollantaytambo
February 5th 2012
Published: March 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Beeds of sweat dripped from my head into the bile below. I gagged and coughed up the white saliva of dehydration. I was dizzy and began to look for the best place to pass out. The bathroom floor had no accomodating spaces. I was weak and y arms trembled as I grasped the toilet seat. It smelled like death and I felt possessed by something very evil.

I'd return to my room cold, weak, and thirsty. I knew I'd have no more than an hour before I had to return to the bathroom. Slipping under my warm blankets, I felt an indescribable comfort. For a few sublime moments I could escape the pain and rest my exhausted body. The cramps returned like clockwork. My bowels were so loose that I could barely make it to the toilet in time. My body had purged itself of all nutrients. I felt like the living dead. I lost track of time. It had no relevance. I repeated my trips to the bathroom as if they had been a life long routine.

The sun came up. I passed on breakfast. I was not hungry for lunch. I had planned to spend the day with Americans at a superbowl party. The thought of cheeseburgers and chicken wings had made my mouth water yesterday, now it made my stomach growl with rage. There was no way I could make it across town, let alone stay in a bar without toilet paper. It would be embarassing to say the least. I'd almost given up hope of watching the superbowl when Doris poked her head into my room. "Wesley,your game has started. Want to watch it downstairs?" I couldn't believe there was a way to broadcast the game here. It seemed so foreign, so far away.

We lost possession in the last three minutes of the fourth quarter. We were up 17-15 with three minutes left in the fourth quarter. Manning marched down the field and punched one in for a touchdown. Brady threw a couple hail-maries and the game was over. I hate the Giants.

So concluded one of the worst days of my life. I wasn't sure what had made me ill, probably some street food in Quillabamba. I couldn't be sure. I went to sleep with the guarantee that tomorrow would be a better day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb