Aola from Machu Picchu


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
October 9th 2006
Published: October 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Mist over the ruinsThe Mist over the ruinsThe Mist over the ruins

We just sat at the Guard house and watched it clear and reveal everything beneath it.
Hi Everybody,

Well, Peru - what can I say, we have been in Cusco now for six days and this is the first day I have actually been exploring..... lucky me, I have taken on some hitch hikers who have taken us residence in my stomach. Yes I have contacted parasites. Our first meal in Cusco, I tried to be healthy (having grown tired of coke and chips in Bolivia) and decided on an orange juice and veggie burger in the highly recommended Jack´s....! What went wrong, well I think the OJ may have been watered down and since then I have been mucho unwell.

Three injections in my arse later and some seriously strong antibiotics and I am just about able to eat food again. Yesterday was the first day I actually managed to have one full meal. And its a strict diet of no veggies, fruit or alcohol for me for a while. Well I am sure someone said travelling would be the ultimate way to diet....

Anyway, fingers crossed that things will continue to get better in the stomach department, I am loaded with another dose of antibiotics I have to take next Friday and
What the mist revealed....What the mist revealed....What the mist revealed....

At this point I was eating my twix for breakfast.
then I have to have a test in a months time to check the overstayers have officially left my intestines!

Despite all this, we still made it to Machu Picchu, fortunately we had two days there. And stayed in a really cool eco lodge (Will you would be proud, though I was slightly suspicious by the concrete base, not being entirely sure concrete was that eco friendly!). But it had the most amazing views over Agnes Calienties, and a super comfy bed. The first day we only managed the lower sections of Machu Picchu, as I was constantly nearly falling over through lack of substinance and feeling very dizzy and basically out of it. But by the second day, when we got up at 5am to get their early, I was beginning to feel better and a healthy bar of twix for breakfast saw me through almost until lunchtime....

Machu Picchu was truly awesome. I have been struggling to find the appropriate word to describe it and despite its americanism, "awesome" really is the best work I can think of. The view from the guard house which is at the top of the site just takes your breath away and there really is no way in words to describe quite how it felt to be there. All I can say is, despite its huge touristic appeal and definate overcrowding in the afternoons if you are ever in Peru you absoultely must make a visit. And take some time just to find a place and just sit and take it all in, because it really is something else. But enough rambling, here are some photos which I only hope will do it some justice.

Loads of love to you all and I hope you are all well back in good old blighty!

love Rachxxxxx

P.S. My peruvian doctor was called Dr Willy!

P.S. There are more, but we haven´t had that memory card developed yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The terracesThe terraces
The terraces

These guys were some crazy farmers and used to plough and grow crops on these terraces. Believe me your legs feel very wobbly when you look down.
Top DogTop Dog
Top Dog

There were more ruins at the top of this mountain. Not sure which lucky fellow got to live there. Must have been a bugger when you needed a pint of milk. No we did not attempt that climb.
Floating stepsFloating steps
Floating steps

You are meant to climb these things. Yes I know I look nackered its 6.30am and I´ve just climbed a bloody mountain...
Beautiful flowerBeautiful flower
Beautiful flower

No idea what it is called, but they were truly amazing and as big as your hand if not bigger.
He was a hit with the kids!He was a hit with the kids!
He was a hit with the kids!

Or maybe they just liked watching themselves on video...
Mum this ones for you...Mum this ones for you...
Mum this ones for you...

Apparently this is me about to take off. Sorry this is only picture Rich got. Rest on DVD in post.


10th October 2006

Inca madness!
Hi Guys, It's great following your trip- especially now you're in the part of S America that I've been to! Machu Pichu was absolutely the highlight for me although you've got Nazca and Pacific seas and some fantastic beauty in Ecuador to come. I'm extremely jealous! (but well-pleased for you both as well). Take care Carl x
10th October 2006

MY PICTURE
Thanks Rachael. Glad it was you and not me although at least you weren't shut in! Looking forward to the DVD. Machu Pichu looks fantastic but a shame you had to take your hitch hikers with you! Love Mum xx
10th October 2006

I have to say that I feel you totally cheated by not walking for three days through the andes to get to the site though... tomxxx
10th October 2006

hello from mr shoe
hey guys, sorry to hear that rachel has been unwell, but to be honest did not suprise me, first it is rich then it is rach, the photos are great. keep the stories coming. ohh richard, what is your fathers email address?? i want to talk to him about a couple things aviation related shall we say. take care boys and girls. mr shoe xx
10th October 2006

love doctor
that doctor's name is very good. i do like DR. Willy. Have you got a photo of him?
10th October 2006

Wow...
Machu Picchu looks amazing. I've always wanted to go there - very jealous. I was reading about it only last weekend. Sorry to hear you've been ill Rach! Hope the little blighters have left your system by now. Still it wouldn't be proper travelling without at least one hideous illness!! Seriously though, hope you're feeling better. Saw Rich and Di last weekend which was great - both very well and asking after you both. Up to London again for a course tonight and supper with Joe and Clem, then on to Andy's 31st birthday party this weekend - which should be fun. TAKE CARE, GET WELL and lots of love, Giles
10th October 2006

Fantastic!
Hi Rachael, What a lovely surprise to return home from the Old Kent Road to find an email and your blog. So it's not only the antibiotics that are working! Glad to see the evidence that you are bac k on your feet and on tje top of the world. I'm really getting the feeling that I haven't begun to live yet and should soon venture from the mean streets of South London and the rural charm of Dinton to somewhere more adventurous. Shouldn't leave it too late, should I? Until then I'll just have to make do with your blog. Lots of love, Sue xxxxxx
10th October 2006

Hi from Poland
That looks amazing, hope you managed to properly enjoy it despite the parasites! No, seriously, hope you are feeling better now as being ill abroad is not exactly fun. We are in Krakow in Poland which is cool, still sunny and we just saw kids breakdancing for money in the main square. I gave them 2 zloty (about 18p) and they seemed very pleased.
10th October 2006

poor you
Poor you Rachael. You both seem to be surviving through sickness and health! (more sickness though!) Looks amazing. Nice to see the pics of Rich with the kids. His childhood friend's parents think he would make an excellent teacher! lol Vicky and Simon xx
10th October 2006

Hello from Mr Shoe
Hi Goatie, good to hear from you. Thanks for comments. Unfortunately no picture of Dr Willy, too pre-occupied for a photo opportunity. I´ll send you Dad´s email on a private email. Hope all is well, lots of love Rich and Rachx
11th October 2006

Great Photos
Hi Guys, All looking fantastic shame Rachel has been poorly hope all better now. Amazing coincidence Tess Hickish (who I used to Nanny for) seems to have been in Bolivia at the same time as you, she is at university in Santiago. Shame we didn't know before. Keep up the mountain hikes. Love sal xxx

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb