The Journey to Machu Picchu


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
October 23rd 2012
Published: November 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Overlooking the SiteOverlooking the SiteOverlooking the Site

At Machu Picchu.
The big day—the trip to Machu Picchu has been my dream. The guide came at 5:40 AM right on schedule to take me to a van which drive me to the train station to catch the “Vistadome” train at Poroy near Cusco. The three hour train ride allowed me to catch up on sleep and enjoy the breakfast spread on fabric Inca print table cloths.



At Aguas Calientes the guide asked me to wait, but was frustrated because my time was so short. We finally went to the bus and took the ride to the top around many hairpin curves. The walk up to the “Facebook” vista, as the guide called it, ended where we could see the famous sight of Machu Picchu spread below us. I broke away from the group, even though the guide almost insisted that I should stay with him, so that I could see The Sundial, The Watchtower, and other famous places in Machu Picchu.



The surprise on the return train trip back to Cusco was the traditional masked dancer and a fashion show all performed by the servers on the train.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Machu Picchu, PeruMachu Picchu, Peru
Machu Picchu, Peru

A view of the site.
The Fashion Show by the Staff on the TrainThe Fashion Show by the Staff on the Train
The Fashion Show by the Staff on the Train

The train from Aguas Calientes.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb