MACHU PICCHU AND BACK AGAIN


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
June 10th 2006
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

First there was the 4-day Inca Trek, then there was the alternative mountain-bike-Inca-trek… and then, the most wisest, safest, sensible, easy and relaxing choice by far: the train. Why hadn’t I taken the train all the other times!? Machu Piccu- the lost (but found again) city of the Incas. Despite it being my 3rd visit to the old ruins- the spectacular vista still manages to take my breath away. It truly is an awe inspiring place with so many secrets. The amount of speculations on the what’s what and the how’s how of the citadel are questionable- basically we really have no clue about this magical place and that’s what makes it so mysterious.

Dad had taken the 4-day trek to Machu Picchu, so mum, Elvis and I met him up there, it was good to see him ambling down the mountain, the head of the pack- that trek isn’t easy so it’s a really big achievement.

I can’t really write that much about Machu Picchu this time round because as soon as I met up with dad I found a cosy corner in the middle of the ruins and slept (it’s hard exploring ruins high up in the mountains when you’re sporting the worst bout of flu you’ve ever experienced.) whilst dozing mum, dad and Elvis took a guided tour of the citadel and then Elvis and dad did an amazing sprint up a nearby peak called Huayna Picchu- catching a view of Machu Picchu that not many see.

We caught one of the afternoon trains back into Cusco- mum and dad ate their last meal at the world’s highest Irish pub and before I knew it, it was tomorrow and mum and dad were on the morning flight heading back to Australia. And the moment they passed from sight through the gate I burst into tears- they were returning to hot showers, a house with a heater, fresh bread that tasted like real bread, milk that didn’t come out of a tin, traffic lights where red really meant stop and zebra crossing that were really pedestrian crossings and not just lines painted on the road. I was sicker than I had been for a long time and I just wanted my mum. And at that moment the reality sunk in- this was the path I had chosen- oceans away from home and everything I knew. In a country full of peculiarities and years behind in western civilization- a new chapter is begun, there is no going back… just forward.

Candice. xxoo



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

DAD SPRINTING UP THE MOUNTAINDAD SPRINTING UP THE MOUNTAIN
DAD SPRINTING UP THE MOUNTAIN

MOVE OER LADIES BOB THE MAN IS COMING THRU.


30th June 2006

love the picture of candice the sick - if i remember correctly you were just about ready to hit Elvis if he dared to want to take ANOTHER photo. I think he is hooked on the camera!! Love mum!!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb