Success at Machu Picchu


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
November 29th 2010
Published: December 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Starting out for Machu PichuStarting out for Machu PichuStarting out for Machu Pichu

5am and on the way- look how happy Lilou and I look.
4:00 am "Anna?" I jump out of bed as if it were on fire, " I am up, I am up." I say. I go to the bathroom, wash my face, brush my teeth and pull my clothes on. Lilou, my 22 year old Dutch companion and I pack up our back packs strap on our head lamps and we are on our way.

4:45 am We reach the bridge and make our way to the stone walking path leading straight UP to Macchu Picchu.

4:55 am We take off our sweaters and take some pictures (note: "pictures" are a good disguise for a break).

5:00 am I am certain the other twenty people behind us have now passed us.

5:05 am We stop and eat some bananas for energy.

5:10 More "pictures" and some water.

5:15 am "I am not gonna make it."

5:20 am "How much further?"

5:25 am "Why didn´t we just take the $7 and 15 minute bus ride?"

5:40 am "Just leave me here to die," I say to my companion. Bless her heart she is very encouraging. I tie my scarf around my head to keep
More StepsMore StepsMore Steps

These are some of the steps leading straight up to Machu Picchu from Aguas Calientes.
the sweat from going into my eyes.

5:55 am More "pictures" and we scan for signs of life.

5:57 am "Give me a break, I am a 40 year old overweight smoker."

6:00 am "Is it too late to turn back? Down is always easier"

6:05 am We hear people thought it seems that we are still deep in the jungle and the leafy overhangs make is impossible to see where the top is.

6:07 am More "pictures".

6:10 We round the final bend and we see about 50 people waiting in line, the park has just opened, we get our tickets stamped for Hayuanu Picchu (only 400 people per day are allowed to climb this mountain that overlooks Macchu Picchu.) "Well, that wasn´t so bad," I say.





Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Machu PicchuMachu Picchu
Machu Picchu

This is one of my first views of Machu Picchu.
Machu PicchuMachu Picchu
Machu Picchu

Llamas- how did they get up here?
Machu PicchuMachu Picchu
Machu Picchu

View through the window.
Huayanu Picchu enteranceHuayanu Picchu enterance
Huayanu Picchu enterance

I was #67- you had to sign in and out. It was a scarey climb with cables that you could grab to help pull you up, on the other side there was a sheer drop.
Thne path leading to Huayna PicchuThne path leading to Huayna Picchu
Thne path leading to Huayna Picchu

4 hour hike to get to a view over Machu Picchu.
Machu PicchuMachu Picchu
Machu Picchu

After 9am they let you stamp your passport with Machu Picchu- is that legal? I mean it's not vaticxan city.


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb