Inka Jungle Trek


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
July 23rd 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I just came back from Machu Picchu last night. I took the easiest of the alternative treks (the official Inca Trail was booked up in February or something like that) called the Inka Jungle trek. On Saturday I met up with a group of other tourists from France and Holland and we left Cusco for bike ride down a large mountain. After several hours of a bumpy road and sore ass, we arrived to the small town of Santa Maria where we stayed in a hostel for the night. The next morning we woke up to hike about 20 km some hot springs near and slightly larger town called Santa Teresa. This was my favorite day of hiking because the views changed every hour and it was all spectacular. Plus, I met a monkey. The hot springs were the perfect ending to a long sweaty day of hiking. Don't worry, I showered before I got in. We left Santa Teresa the next day for Aguas Calientes, the touristy town below Machu Picchu. The mountains changed to look like you would think Machu Picchu land would look like and we knew we were near! When we arrived in Aguas Calientes we had
RocksRocksRocks

in the shape of the mountains behind
wonderful hot showers and a nice dinner then retired early to be up by 4:30am to climb up to Machu Picchu!

Yesterday morning we climbed up the steep hill for almost an hour to Machu Picchu to beat the lazy tourists taking the bus...we got them before them but we didn't really make it into the site before them so it may or may not have been a waste of energy. We definately saved seven dollars, however. Machu Picchu was great so nothing really mattered when I got there for the sunrise. We climbed up Waynu Picchu and saw some of the best views of my life. Sometimes when I go to a place that has been built up a lot, I find myself underwhelmed when I actually get there. This was not the case yesterday.

Tomorrow I am leaving Cusco for some smallish villages in the mountains. I will get to practice lots of Spanish and not meet any tourists! After that, I am going to attempt to get to the jungle. I need to eat some jungle fruit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

AmanecerAmanecer
Amanecer

Sunrise from Machu Picchu
on the wayon the way
on the way

Just before the train tracks
BridgeBridge
Bridge

it had missing planks and everything
Machu Picchu TrainMachu Picchu Train
Machu Picchu Train

walking on train tracks is mildly dangerous
SalkantaySalkantay
Salkantay

The views on the way there


24th July 2008

geez!
Wow Kim! Way to make the rest of us feel like losers! ;) Sounds like you are having an amazing time! Miss you! Jocelyn and CO. (come home and meet the skunk and fox!)
24th July 2008

Awsome! You made it. miss you. Stay safe.
2nd August 2008

Wowsers!
Hola mi chica - sounds wonderful - KIT - xoxoxoxoxo
11th August 2008

That just looks amazing...
I'm so jealous! It looks like you're having an awesome time!!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb