Cusco - Preparation for Trek to Machu Pichu


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
January 26th 2009
Published: February 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

From the moment I crossed the Peruvian border I felt very happy. Whilst I had a fantastic time in Bolivia the locals sometimes left a lot to be desired. The Peruvians instantly were warmer and friendlier.

I got an overnight bus to Cusco and checked into my hostel at about 6.30am. I managed to get a bed straight away and slept for about 4 hours so woke up feeling like I had already had a night here.

Cusco is a truely beautiful city. Yes - it is very touristy but it is steeped in history and beauty. It is very warm through the day and cold at night as we are still at almost 3000m altitude.

I spent my first day just wondering around and soaking up the sights and culture and then met my lovely Irish boys again for dinner and a few drinks.

I booked my trek. I had many options - there are over 1000 tour operators here! I decided on a trek called the Salkantay trek. This is a 5 day trek to Machu Pichu and is the most physically challenging one you can do!

I ended up paying $US 220 which is a heck of a lot cheaper than had I booked something from home. For the Inca Trail people will usually pay $AU 600. I booked through an agency called JJJ´s but when I actually got on the trek I realised that everyone was through different agencies so it is worth going for the cheapest you can get here in Cusco. For anyone considering it I would say you should pay around $US 180.

Anyway I spent the next day shopping with the boys and saying our farewells again and then had an early night in preparation for my 4am pickup!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb