Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
July 10th 2008
Published: July 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We left Puno early and headed to Cusco, all hoping that the strike was over and we didn´t get stopped just outside the city. Apparently during the strikes people block off all the roads with big stones and boulders and if any cars come along they start throwing rocks at them...hence all the worrying when we left! Luckily when we got nearer to Cusco the stones had been removed enough to allow vehicles through but we still had to swerve to avoid a few piles!

When we arrived we just had a wander round the main square and headed to a little craft market where we tried our skills at bartering, they worked but we could have done better! In the evening we headed to a cool bar where drinks were served in plant pot type things...very different to anywhere ive seen before! It was really nice and chilled, just me, Ann, Staurt, Mike and Daniella.

The next day we went rafting just outside Cusco. We helped blow up the rafts and got all kitted out with wet suits and life jackets. None of us had really done it before so we had a quick lesson before hitting the water! The water was absolutely freezing, I didnt have any appropriate shoes so I ended up wearing trainers which got soaked to the core! The guides were really good fun, as its dry season the rapids were much slower so we managed to play a few games on the quieter bits of the river and get out and swim. It was good though as a slower river meant we spent longer rafting. On one of the games I fell in and lost my breath because it was so cold, after that it was a bit of a struggle to get back in the raft as there is nothing to push off. You just have to rely on everyone else in the boat helping you back on! Just before the end our guide tipped the raft over so we all ended up in the water again. I think I must have fallen in about 4 times from the games, the raft tipping over and the kayak guy pulling me in! The deal was if you stay 100% dry at the end you get your money back so they try there hardest to get you soaked! Fair play to them, everyone was
RaftingRaftingRafting

Ann and Edwina racing...Ann won!
drenched by the end!

In the evening we went out for dinner with the whole tour group as it was Andys birthday the next day and we were starting the Inca Trail so the group would be splitting up for a few days. It was nice, we considered ordering Guinea pig but we saw one come out and it hadnt been cut up so that put me off a bit! It looked just like yours Anna but chargrilled! Ill try it if I get through the Inca Trail!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Rafting!Rafting!
Rafting!

Ann taking control of blowing up the rafts!


23rd July 2008

Shocked!
Poor guineas:-( although i dont think that there would be much meat on then, definatly not worth it ;-P) I want to go rafting now, although i definatly couldnt imagin you willingly jumping into freezing cold water! hehe! Also does it mean you have finally got your walking trainers muddy n wet!!! As we know Ben failed. Everything sounds cool dont think a gd days climbing compairs.... Take care of ur selves, looking forward to the next installment! Anna xxx :-)
23rd July 2008

Haha! No you´ll be surprised to know that my walking trainers are still clean and dry!! Make sure you tell Ben that!! I used some different ones for rafting as I needed the walking ones for the Inca Trail the next day! I´ll try to put a picture up when I can of my still new looking trainers! I must admit i´m still missing climbing loads but I´m having the best time of my life out here, its fantastic! Ill be back with you and Andy though before you know it! I did put Andys email into my blog but I´m not sure if I got it right...do you know if he has the link or not? Say Hi to him for me!
24th July 2008

emails
Andy does have the blog link, i sent it to him as well! hehe! the comments bit on this site is a bit hit and miss! hehe! may just use facebook! will percivere! (however you spell it!) Ps its about 25C here!! and rising! Hope you enjoy th Inca trail... im sure you will! Anna xxx

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb