The Sounds of Life


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
October 29th 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Life in Canada is so sanitary and we often live without sounds of the world around us. In complete opposite there is always some reminder of the world outside via sound waves here. I can now easily identify the sound of a pig being shoved into a large sack, hoisted onto the roof of a van and secured to the top for a two hour, nausea-inducing down-mountain ride no unpaved road. I also know what it looks like when that pig comes loose and dangles partway down infront of the window of the van.

All of that adventure made possible by some strong antibiotics the doctor here gave me after my strong cold gave way to a bacterial respiratory infection. The family has offered all types of advice as to why I fell sick and how to avoid dying. The first theory (and likely the most accurate) is that I contracted something from the children at the orphanage. The other reason I surely came down with a fever on Sunday night last week was that I had done my laundry that afternoon -- and touched cold water! I wasn{t allowed to bathe myself in the mornings and had to promptly blowdry my hair in the evenings after showering. I think my favourite reason that surely explains my illness was that in the afternoon I dozed on the couch in the sun WITHOUT A BLANKET! How dare I lay in the sun uncovered. It will be difficult to live without all this superstition.

This weekend I joined my house parents in a trip to Lares. A region of natural hotsprings which were very relaxing, for about an hour. Then I went exploring along the river. My big find for the weekend: human skulls shaded under a rock on a small farm. Three human skulls. I might have freaked myself out by remembering all those scary movies and assuming that the farmer would now know that I knew that there were skulls and therefore have to get rid of the evidence. Being over a kilometre away and drowned out by the river noise no one would have heard screams. So I took some photos and took off.

I also took this weekend to get over my fear of guinea pigs. The owner of our hostal raised cuys (yes, for lunch) and when she would put out food all 30 would gather to converse. They are quite noisy those cuys. I even had the opportunity to hold a baby that will make a very good roast in about 2 months. Photos of all the excitement to come.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb