Padre Cocha and Iquitos


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Amazonas
October 15th 2013
Published: October 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Iquitos sculptureIquitos sculptureIquitos sculpture

along the boulevard overlooking teh Amazon River
Dear Dear friends, This journey so far is filled with wonder at the incredible profusion of life in the Amazon as well as immense poverty and rubbish. I am currently inTarapoto for a day before I go to Monte Ingles. Being away from the Amazon really gives me a good perspecitive about how intense it is there. Just imagine the huge amount of energy that is the jungle. the plants the animals the river. Now throw a large city in the middle of it and throw in corporate irresponsibility. Mototaxis. Poverty.Then consider there is no where to put the trash. Oh and add magic. viola, you have Iquitos.

it is the place to learn about the healing practices of the Amazon jungle. There is too much to learn in a short trip like mine of course, but i feel like a sponge! Claire is teaching me some and Kellee has introduced me to a family that has connections with currenderos in the Padre Cocha area. When I get back there I will be ready to start following up on these leads.

I loved the Belen market and got my mapacho, palo santo in bulk, a bottle of protection you
protestorprotestorprotestor

during a protest to hold corporations accountable for their impact on teh Amazon
sit in your alter. I got that from a lovely woman who creates her own medicinal brews (only 10 soles). I would like to go and spend more time with her as well! Tap her font of plant information. I will be needing an interpreter for some of these interactions....luckily they aren't very expensive to hire. Claire is very helpful as well.

I am in Tarapoto but I am not going to tell you how wonderful itodd until I can show you the amazing photos of the place and The awashIyaku falls I swam under, cleansing and giving offerings and gratitude to the water before my retreat.talk to you all in a couple ofweeks!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

protest marchprotest march
protest march

many peole are interested in bringing better education and responsibility to the area
tribal representativestribal representatives
tribal representatives

there were four tribes present at teh protest. they also brought their pueblo food to share with people.
gathering to marchgathering to march
gathering to march

the minister of culture was there as well to assist the march. He said local government needed to change to protect the people and their home
In Padre CochaIn Padre Cocha
In Padre Cocha

out for a walk
This rare monkey is very curiousThis rare monkey is very curious
This rare monkey is very curious

At pilpintuwasi they have rescued animals who are not able to go back to teh wild and a huge butterfly house. this teen girl monkey is very curious
Teen girl monkeys love flowers Teen girl monkeys love flowers
Teen girl monkeys love flowers

because I was alone at the palapa i was able to hang out with the monkeys and tehy came to play with me.
JaguarJaguar
Jaguar

when this jaguar was a cub it ws rescued form a small box where it was kept in a market in Iquitos
pocket monkeyspocket monkeys
pocket monkeys

the smallest and very mischeivious monkeys
chrysalischrysalis
chrysalis

these butterflies are put on this board to hatch at the butterly breding house
one of many!one of many!
one of many!

Gudren is committd to helping the butterflies and animals at the refuge. She has 23 species of butterflies in her care
Three medicine womenThree medicine women
Three medicine women

Need a healing, a treatment, massage, art therapy, life caoching, or a card reading? these are your gals.. Kellee, Claire and Robin
sorry, no sexsorry, no sex
sorry, no sex

just in case you needed to know.. this restaurant does not serve sex
TarapotoTarapoto
Tarapoto

my room in Tarapoto at La Patarushca hotel. a sweet interlude before I dive into the next part of my journey
from my balconyfrom my balcony
from my balcony

this is where the obnoxiously early call of the house parrot and random rooster live. if <i find either, <i may not be very nice
A beautiful painting in the loungeA beautiful painting in the lounge
A beautiful painting in the lounge

<i love this painting! the artist didnt sign it but <i may be able to find it from the owner.


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb