May 12th


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » San Pedro
May 12th 2012
Published: May 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So it has been fairly eventful recently :-)
The other day I broke 2 machetes....... Yes that totalled it to 3 machetes fallen victim to my hands... But in fairness the last 2 only had lost bolts so the were easily repaired...unlike the first one which was outright snapped!
So yeah one was without a bolt so me and Inge walked back and then I went back out alone with the other one and after about 10 minutes that one went too. I was so pissed off! I had to walk back again and was not able to go agaaaaaain! But I didn't really have to anyway and it was getting late so it would have been pointless to walk all the way back to come home again in less than an hour...
Then we got the best news ever - We got the rolex funding!! It's fantastic! I grabbed Karina for a congratulatory hug and others came to join and we all jumped around screaming with delight. So feckin chuffed for PLT :-) So deserved too!
Then after lunch we went kayaking (me, Gus, Inge, Noah and Nick) on the lake. It was so beautiful. I just love the lake. After they went back in I stayed out in the middle of the lake on my own taking in all the surroundings.. The sounds of the crickets and the birds were amazing. The view of the silvery surface of the water meeting the golden crispiness of the reeds and then the lush green of the forest encompassing the whole lake while watching fish jump out of the water and birds fly over in the magically blue sky with some odd lonely wisps of clouds... The feel of the warm relaxing sun on my face for a while until I watched it fade away behind some clouds and down beneath the bushline beyond the horse carall.
BEAUTIFUL!!
So then we had an asado and party that night with the locals. Griselda and her fella Antonio and Pikanita came too. I was playing with Pikanita loads and we had great fun! She was in great form. She kept pretending to go asleep upside down after saying Hasta Manana. Such a dote! The party was great overall. I was trying to speak Spanish and talk to the locals and everyone was dancing loads and ... just... yeah! really great craic all round! And the food was great! G-star made the most amazing Chipa ever! And after the food we all sat around a fire and looked up at the fantastic stars
So then yesterday I didn't go out... I think handovers are contagious or something because I got plenty of sleep but I still felt lazy all day... The attitude definitely wears off on me.
We played mafia in the evening and I finally lasted it out for a game as a townsperson. So proud! And then we watched Modern Family in my room. As I was going asleep I felt a wet thing plop down on my face and then it went to my arm... At first thought Inge had dropped something down but I couldn't figure out how it would get in under the bunk bed onto my face... and then I realised it was a frog, freaked out with a yelpy screech and jumped out of the bed squealing like a little girl...
This morning Augusta found a snake really close to the house on the Mbopi trail and called me over and after a few minutes everyone else joined us. When I got there it struck at the 2 of us. Mad stuff! It was so exciting! We thought it was a rattlesnake but after looking at the photos it turns out it might be a...can;t spell this but... Bowthrops...instead, which is even more deadly. Kinda scary but it was so cool.
Me, Jonny and Inge went out to the forest and it was soooo humid!! We worked away but were slow enough. It stormed a bit earlier but not enough clearly becasue it is still stupidly humid. I've done feck all today... I found some really interesting projects in Bolivia that I want to do. They look class!! :-)
Okedoke! I shall try to post this now... No promises as the last 2 wouldnt post. I'll try them all today... Ciao. Now I'm off to watch some movie about South Africa... Looks boring but everyone is watching it and I don't feel like doing much else. I might get bored and go out to write the rest of our movie... That'd be better. Soon! Laptop go to sleep now though

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb