The Secret Party


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Concepcion
May 9th 2008
Published: May 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So as ever, I have been excedingly rubbish at updating this blog. Ooops. I would like to say it'd because I've been so busy, but well, that would be a big lie. I'm just forgetful and lazy.

There are now only 10 days left in Concepcion, i'm getting rather excited. It's odd, I'm sad in a way, as I do love the people here and I will of course miss them, especially whilst I'm in Asuncion as I'll feel I should be back here with them. But at the same time excitement wins, because that means there are only 10 days and one month left untill I shall be back home, which is very very exciting.

So in the past, er, while since I last blogged what has happened? I got to be an interpreter for an evening, that was rather fun. An american dude from Gideons (you know the people who give out free bibles in schools etc?) came to Concepcion to have meetings with the Paraguayans who had signed up to distribute the bibles, but he didn't speak a word of spanish. Luckily one of the Paraguayans had been told by someone that there were two english missionaries at the anglican church, so he came and begged us to come and interprete so they could have their meeting. So Claire and I went, at first I just sat back and let Claire do all the interpreting because I still didn't trust my spanish speaking abilities. However half way through the meeting Claire had to go because she had promised to go teach some kid English, so I was left alone in this meeting to do the interpreting. And dya know what? I could do it! It was crazy, I would never have thought my spanish was good enough but it turns out it was! It was lucky they found us though, as without us they just would not have been able to have this meeting. I don't really understand why they sent someone who can't speak spanish as it's not exactly an uncommon language to be able to speak, you know? Ah well, I'm not complaining it was good experience for me. So I'm going to put it into my work placement report (which I've STILL not finished, only 1500 words to go though) and also probably into my CV.

I have managed to collect in 74 of my questionnaires about language. As Miriam took me to her accounting class and got all her classmates to fill them out for me, because before that I only had 19! So hopefully I'll manage to get 100 so I can write my dissertation/project/link essay on bilingualism in Paraguay. I've been trying to find information on the uni's website about the courses I can do next year, and there's not a lot. It's very frustrating. Oooh whilst at Miriam's class I met the director of the school who was surprisingly young, and rather hot. I also got attacked by a small dog. So I probably didn't make the greatest of impressions on him, as I ended up giving more attention to the dog chomping on my ankle than to him.

Speaking of hot men, on wednesday we went as usual to do our kids club in the Chaco (about 20km outside of town) but we missed the bus back. So we hitched a ride in the back of a truck, and well the driver was GORGEOUS! How is it that I have gone 8 months in Concepcion and not seen a single hot guy and then 10 days before leaving see two?!? The truck driver was apparantly a vet, who owns an estancia. He had a big bag of meat in the back of the truck which Claire sat on not knowing it was meat and got blood all over her jeans, yum. Zuny reckons he was a foreigner, which would explain why he was hot! As bless the Paraguayans, they aren't so beautiful. Claie and Zuny were laughing at my lovestruckness. I should have left something in his car so that he would come back to return it... Hindsight is the worst kind of sight.

What else has happened? Last friday was Claire's birthday and on saturday some of the teachers who help with the kids work attempted to throw a surprise party for her. I say attempted because it was the worst kept 'surprise' party in the world. We were organising it and setting it all up whilst Claire was in the church council meeting and the kids just couldn't help themselves, they kept going into the meeting and saying things like "Hurry up because we have a really nice birthday surprise for you" or even more bluntly, "Hurry up, I want to eat your cake already". The worst however was the Bishop. He wanted to go into the room where we had set everything up, the cake etc, adn so he said "Oh no we can't go in there, there's a cake or something... But I've told you about it now, so we might as well go in there now!" So he took her in and she saw everything anyways. Anna gave him a right royal bollocking for that apparantly. So yes, don't expect anything to stay a secret in Paraguay is all I have to say.

Speaking of secrets, Claire says to me earlier today "If you hear us whispering, we're not talking badly about you okay? And if we ask you to go run an errand, just go okay? See no evil, hear no evil and all that..." So if I wasn't suspicious before (which I wasn't, I'm far to oblivious) I am now.

Well that blog was definitely not in chronological order...

Advertisement



10th May 2008

You clearly live with gangsters.....

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb