Finally in the flat...


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Asunciòn
August 24th 2010
Published: August 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This past week, I have had a lack of inspiration to write this blog. Nothing has jumped out at me as really interesting. Or surprising. Nothing like that. So I will just write about past week I suppose...

So its now Monday, I don't know when I last wrote to be honest...

I don't think I have mentioned last Saturday, meeting the scariest guy I have ever. Not scary in that he could hurt me, scary in that he should not be let near females. Scary in that, within two hours of meeting, when he was supposed to be on a date with my friend but ignored her, had asked me my opinion on abortion, and if I'd ever have one, told me his grandad or great grandad was a Nazi, used the 'N' word to refer to black people and said that he loved looking at photos of girls' backs... Now I may sound like a complete bitch writing about this, but it was one of the worst parts of the week... and therefore deserves a mention. Things could only get better from here... Surely.

Sunday... Ah yes. I saw the president! Haha. The founding of Asunción day (15 August 1547?? I think! Maybe wrong though...) I have been nearer to the Paraguayan president in 3 weeks of being here than to any Prime Minister of my own country in 22 years. And he had been in a different country for an operation on cancer a few days before and was still there. I don't really know too much about the guy and I definately don't have an opinion on the politics here as of yet, but I thought that was great.

The rest of the week is a bit of a blur... lessons, training, buying stuff for the flat, paying deposits, trying to get internet!!! Lots of randon stuff. No routine. Mehhhh... Things were difficult. Felt so tense. I must have been a nightmare at times... Oops. But it is all gone now.

But now! We have our flat! We have a fridge. We have a balcony! The weather is ace. I FINALLY HAVE INTERNET OF MY OWN - after 5 visits to the internet providers place! Arghhhh. It seems a Paraguayan ID is necessary to take out an internet thing here. Although at first it was just a passport, then passport and credit check, then passport, credit check, and flat contract... The list goes on! But finally I have it!! YAY!!

And I have great housemates! 😊

I will write about them and all my other new people in another blog once I have their permission - just in case they read it. 😊

And my teaching and classes are going well. But that is also another blog.

So now I can settle. In my own room, in our flat, where we can cook our own food, come and go as we want, listen to our music, sleep in our own beds, make our own curtains (yes, I made curtains... hehe) and start our new lives. Ahhh and we have our own fridge... although it is warmer in the fridge than outside - which is always good! (Oh dear!)


On another note...

I have had a few people asking me this week if I miss home, and actually, I don't, not really. Not because I don't care about people or want to see them, but because I know, really, is it only about 18 hours away... It may be many, many miles, but time-wise, it is nothing. There are times when I want a hug, or when it hurts and I really want to see someone, but I just have an ALFAJOR, and it makes everything better 😊 Well, it helps. And skype is always availble to chat when needed.

Soooo... not the most interesting post, but some weeks are just not as good as others. Sorry! 😊







Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb