USA Bound


Advertisement
Guyana's flag
South America » Guyana » Georgetown
March 17th 2007
Published: March 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Our taxi arrived at 2:30 a.m. and we made it to the airport by 3:20 after our driver made several stops. We made it through customs, paid our exit fees, and slowly made our way the gate. I uploaded everyone’s’ photos onto my laptop so Dad could make CDs and send them out to everyone. The plane left a little before 6 and I think we all took a nap. Our first stop was in Trinidad like last time, except they made us get off the plane. Getting back on the plane was a complete mess. They herded us around like sheep from one checkpoint to another and finally we made it to the terminal. I picked up a doll at the gift shop and we finally took off again after 9. They showed a movie this flight, but I fell asleep before it even started. We landed in Miami, picked up our bags, and said our goodbyes. Stan, Dr. Becky, Dad and I all headed upstairs to recheck in. We said goodbye to Becky and made our way to the plane.

We flew from Miami to Orlando where we waited a couple hours for our flight. We got to the gate and everything seemed okay. The flight was on time and ready to depart at 6:40 p.m. After a dozen delays, food vouchers, and many disgruntled passengers, they assured us they had found a captain who would arrive at 11:54 p.m. on another flight. The pilot finally showed and we were bound for Knoxville. The whereabouts of the original captain are still unknown. We landed in the frigid 47°F weather. Normally that would be just a little on the cool side but I was shivering from head to toe. It was 3 a.m. and Stan jokingly suggested breakfast at Shoney’s, which he followed with a “Let’s get the hell outta here.” I couldn’t I have said it better myself.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb