From New Jersey to Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
May 27th 2012
Published: May 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 1



<span> Last night, I arrived in Quito, Ecuador.<span> My trip started out with a bit of a rough start.<span> I realized that morning that my glasses were missing somewhere in the Mercedes dealership, perhaps forever.<span> Luckily, they found and I was able to get them on the way to the airport.<span> My first flight was to Miami.<span> The flight was about 2 and a half hours and everything went smoothly.



<span> When I went into the Miami airport, things were already very different than at Newark.<span> Hardly anyone there spoke English.<span> Almost all of the people you passed were speaking Spanish.<span> Even the majority of the announcements were in Spanish which I was not expecting.<span> I had about a five hour layover there but was able to keep myself busy with my laptop and phone, reading, and walking around.



<span> That night, my flight to Quito left around 8 o’clock.<span> The flight was about 3 hours and 45 minutes.<span> It was late so most of the people slept after the unappetizing dinner.<span> Unfortunately, for the second time that day, I had the seat in front of the emergency row so it was unable to recline.<span> I slept in total for about 20 or 30 minutes.



<span> As we prepared to land, I opened the shade on my window.<span> From above at night, the city of Quito looked beautiful.<span> I wanted to take a picture but at that time all electronic devices had to be off so I couldn’t.<span> What was interesting to me is you’d see a lit up city but then at some parts it would abruptly stop.<span> There would not be a single light because that’s where the larger mountains were.



<span> We arrived at the Quito airport around 11 o’clock their time.<span> Quito is an hour behind the east coast.<span> The line for immigration was very long but once you got to a counter it only took about two minutes.<span> All of the airport employees only spoke Spanish.<span> Fortunately, it was easy to answer the easy questions there about my name, birthday, etc.<span> After that, I had to find my suitcase which took a good ten minutes.<span> Finally, my suitcase was x-rayed one last time and I was free to leave.



<span> My host family was waiting for me at the airport.<span> There was Ingrid, the mom, Ruben, the dad, and Sebastian, the son.<span> Ingrid welcomed me with lots of hugs and a friendly smile.<span> She immediately started conversing with me only in Spanish which I definitely was not prepared for.<span> After a long day of traveling, I was eager to go home and sleep instead of trying to think of the correct Spanish terms to use.<span> We talked in simply Spanish phrases on the way home.



<span> The family lives very close to the airport.<span> At their house, I have my own room with the basics: bed, dresser, desk, night table, and closet.<span> I also have my own bathroom which to me is a luxury.<span> I brought my suitcase in, put my pajamas, and went right to sleep for the night.<span> It took me a little while to sleep because I kept trying to think of more Spanish phrases that I knew.<span> Eventually, I was able to fall asleep and I slept well.

Advertisement



28th May 2012

Ante de la classes
Sounds great. Sends Pics. Travel safely.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb