Aaron's Amazing Amazon Adventure


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
December 15th 2005
Published: December 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I fished for piranah! I swam with electric eels! I swung from vines! I ate ants that tasted like lemons! I had a Huaroni elder show me how to use a 4 foot long blowgun! I paddled upriver in a dugout canoe with only a freshly plucked branch!

It was one amazing Amazon adventure.

Every day that I stepped into the jungle to go to work it was like stepping into a zoo.

I saw so many frogs, including a Blue Jean Dart frog, and lizards and a few snakes.

I saw four species of monkies including Saki monkies! Saki monkies!!!

There were birds everywhere Toucans and Gruas and Parrots. The Long Tailed Potoo I saw was probably the most incredible bird I have ever seen.

There were some spectacular animals along the river as well, white caimans and blue and yellow macaws.

It was a dazzling 10 days.

Even though I was still working with insects (Inka and I baited butterfly traps with rotting bananas and checked them everyday for five days) it was so refreshing to get out of Yanayacu where it sometimes feels like I just sit in an old chicken coup staring at caterpillars.

The amazon reinvigorated my interest in biology.

Diego, the nature guide, invited me to do a turtle study in January and then asked me to help him study whales next summer!

There were some really great people at the amazon station, and a bunch of tourists.

I became such good friends with the workers that I eventually was a part of the staff, serving the tourists, washing dishes, etc.

I was able to experience so much and see so many new things in the Amazon! I'll definitely post some pictures when I can.

Oh, and yes, Dad, I took my Malaria medicine. 😊

-Aaron

P.S. To all of you who have been waiting for an e-mail from me, I'm sorry about the delay, but internet at Yanayacu hasn't been working for 2 months and we have to take 2 hour long drives to get to an internet cafe. But I will write soon!

Advertisement



15th December 2005

Whales? Turtles? Bring ME!
I wanna study whales and turtles...bring me along!!! Please?
17th December 2005

Greetings from Raleigh!
Aaron, I'm with your parents right now at our Christmas Breakfast. Miss you lots...can't wait until you come back! Love, Cousin Edward
25th December 2005

A Happy Chanuka
Aaron, I just want to say that you were missed at the Spanish party that Kim threw on Long Island last week. Please have a happy Chanukah. Sincerely, A drunk Greg

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb