Visote and the Amazon


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So it´s been a long time since I´ve updated and much has happened. We finished up the project in Visote, in the end we made a garden of medicinal plants and vegitables, bought them 17 cuyes, did workshops on family planning, STDs, nutrition (2), sanitation, and first aid. The people there were so wonderful, I´m really going to miss that community. BUT I´m going to have to go back eventually, because on the last day we were there I became godmother of two children, Kevin Stalen (11 months) and Jessica Margoth (7 years). It more of a supprt thing than actually caring for them if something happens to thier parents, since there would be a lot of issues with me adopting an indigenous child from Ecuador I bet, but I agreed to help out where I can (for example with school unifroms and money towards tuition later) and keep in contact with the family. I´m really excited about this, and they are the cutest kids ever. After the baptism the community threw a big party and we all danced and visted for about 4 hours. When we had to go there were a lot of tears and thank yous.

The very next day we set out for the jungle. We bussed for about 10 hours to get to Lago Agrio and then fromt here drove 3 hours and then went for a 2.5 hour canoe ride to our camp on Laguna Grande in the Cuyabeno reserve. We fished for pirañas, did some bird watching, did a 4 hours jungle hike in the day and another hour or so hike at night (lots of big spiders!), swam in the lagoon with fresh water dolphins, and visited a local indigenous community and learned how to make tasty Yucca bread. We swam 2 acacondas, lots of different birds and monkeys, lots og bats, spiders, bugs of all kinds, caimons, and both pink and grey freshwater dolphins.

We´re all in Quito now, and it will be our last night together as a group. I plan on leaving for Montañita tomorrow, and then making my way back up the coast to check out isla de la plata and the north coast. It´s the end of an era, I´m not sure how I´m going to like travelling on my own after being with a big group for so long, but hopefully it will be good. The two Swiss guys who were on out jungle tour want to meet up in Monañita and maybe go to Isla de la Plata too, so I guess I won´t be completely alone.

Anyways, sorry so short but I´m exhausted. I´ll update with pictures later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb