The Community


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
January 10th 2007
Published: January 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I got a chance to briefly visit the community I will be teaching in. It´s called Ucsha and is a 45 minute bus ride Southeast of Otavalo. As far as distance goes, the community is not too far away, but the drive consists of driving up the side of a mountain, so takes a bit.

The school has about three classrooms, and currently three teachers. When I start in a couple of weeks, I will be the fourth teacher. The plan is for me to teach two English classes a day and one computer class a day. My students will be about 10 years old. To keep things interesting the community (it´s only about 50 people counting everybody, and currently the majority of the men are working in Quito or on flower plantations) speaks Quechuan, the language of the Incan Empire. The students I will teach will have had about 2 years of Spanish, which should be an interesting combination with my 2 weeks of Spanish. Next week, I will head back and meet my host family.

After visiting Ucsha, we went to a nearby community for a going away party for a volunteer. Lunch was provided, and as I was discussing with a friend what we were eating - it was too small to be a pig, skin to thick to be a chicken . . . informed it was guinea pig. If you´re curious, actually, tasted pretty good, however, the skin is more akin to a hide than anything else.


Advertisement



17th January 2007

Incan Empire
Are they still using those ropes with the notches in them to deliver messages like the Incas used to do? I just thought of a great new occupation for you, Peter: you could be the runner that delivers the messages between the villages!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb