Leaving Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
November 11th 2006
Published: November 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After 3 ½ weeks in Ecuador, we decided to move on with our journey into Peru. The border crossing in Macara was problem free, as we arrived by our overnite bus at 2am. We were surprised that no questions were asked, just our passports were stamped; an exit one from Ecuador and an entry one from Peru. It was definitely different than border crossing in any western country, as we did not get grilled for our purpose or motives. I guess it was obvious that we were just gringos backpacking through foreign lands. Another thing that we found weird was the chicken trade that was happening on the Peruvian side of the border. A dozen burlap sacks full of tied up chickens greeted us as we entered Peru. It was quite disturbing, the smell and noise of distraught chirping made me want to puke. Once I jumped back on the bus a little girl had already beat me to it, great. Now we get to ride the rest of the trip with the nasty smell of puke. Grrr.

So now before I move on I just want to reflect on our time in Ecuador. Ecuador was a definite pleasant surprise. I did not think that I would love Ecuador as much as I now do, it is a diverse country with lots to do and many places to visit. The people were great, and really made sure that tourists were safe and taken care of. The memories I will always remember are climbing to the top of the Basilica in Quito, paragliding off the coast in Canoa, riding quads up the volcano in Banos, paddling a dug out canoe through the jungle river in Puyo, dancing around a bonfire on the beach at Montanita, walking along the malecon in Guayquil, and finally the scenic combi ride from Loja to Vilcabamba. Most importantly are all the good people we met along the way, which are far to many to name. Those people will always be in our hearts and memories for years to come, and may even be the driving force for us to return one day.

So goodbye Ecuador, and hello Peru!!!


Advertisement



21st November 2006

---(((--((-o-))--)))---
I am so glad that your trip is turning out to be soooo amazing!!! Thanks for sharing your experiences, keep up the great journalling. Much Love, Lisa R PS I did some temp work at an accounting firm today. I couldn't help but think of you. So glad you are on your trip and really experiencing life to the fullest. Your journey is inspiring. Keep up the good work! Peace.
21st November 2006

thats great that you liked Ecuador, I'm sure you will love your home country of Peru as much or maybe even more. It is good to see different places, it gives you a whole new outlook on life and how there is so much to see out there. That is why I wouldn't change anything in my life growing up living in different countries and all it makes you open your eyes, maybe next we will go together.
23rd November 2006

Wise words
I´ve been keanly following your blog entries and have only now decided to leave a comment; soley for the purpose that I have noticed an important pattern. This guy you´re traveling with, Nolan. Treat him well, he seems to attract the honeys better than a bus full of R&B singers. I mean....I´m actually impressed. Casanova would blush

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb