Adrianne Weighs In


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Guayaquil
March 10th 2012
Published: March 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Adrianne The Card SharkAdrianne The Card SharkAdrianne The Card Shark

Adrianne skillfully plots her next move in a spirited game of rummy.
Hello world! It is your lucky day! This blog post is brought to you by none other than the Rummy champion of the Harte household and, dare I say, the WORLD! Yes that’s right folks, it’s Adrianne! Please, please! Applause is not necessary (although it is appreciated).

On this beautiful, warm, sunny Friday in Ecuador (suck it, Canadian winter), my family and I had a blissful day of almost complete sloth. My brother and I did nothing but enjoy carbonated beverages, BBC with Spanish commercials, and a lovely swim in the pool. The parental units enjoyed much of the same, plus massages. The Female PU had a massage that she describes as “disturbingly invasive”, a category that appears to be becoming a trend with our vacations (some of our more dedicated readers may remember their massages in Thailand being described similarly). However, the Male PU had a “relaxing and invigorating’ massage, a response that unfortunately throws off my ‘bad vacation massage’ data.

Later in the day, we went to the ‘executive lounge’, a room that is noteworthy for the free snacks that my brother and I took advantage of. We played cards and found Jesus. I mean that in the literal sense. There was a man with curly hair and a beard that my mother and I took no small joy in pointing out to the males in the family, who were understandably confused as they thought we were pointing out the clean shaven, short haired man at the same table. This miscommunication was not sorted out until dinner an hour later, when we all realised that men are idiots(and I say that with a great amount of affection towards said men).

After sorting out the ‘How on Earth does that guy look like Jesus’ thing, we noticed a family eating at the same restaurant who were a) obviously not Spanish b) much better dressed than us and c) the topic of conversation for the rest of the night. We took the fact that they were a man, his wife, their son, and their daughter to mean that they believed themselves to be better than us. We also decided that the father was a banker who is married to a retired or part-time realtor-turned-housewife, both decidedly Republican Protestants who had a lot more money than us. Josh also pointed out that a reason for their superiority was the fact that the son was wearing hair gel and the only thing separating us from them was our table’s lack of a candle (which made us unique, in my opinion) and the fact that we cruelly deprive him of the hair gel Santa gives him every year and that he doesn’t know how to use.

In my opinion, we are superior to the Stepfords (the aforementioned family) because of our secret, and keenly absent, sister. That’s right. We are better than those stinking, George Bush voting, pearl wearing, sweater-around-the-shoulders-type people because we out number them. Plus she would no doubt kick all their butts in a trapeze-off; they were so limp-noodley.

All of this is my way of saying that a vacation with the Harte-Sjodin clan is not a vacation with the Harte-Sjodin clan when possibly the most sane person is missing. Which is a long winded and slightly confusing method of saying, as embarrassing as it is to admit, that I miss my sister. Oh my goodness, I’m slightly nauseated just writing that; I’m not supposed to be the sentimental one! I specifically assigned that job to my mother!

Hem, cough, err, hmmmph, yes, well…

Until we meet again,

In thunder, lightning, or in rain.

(see what I did there?)

Advertisement



12th March 2012

Your Blogs are great
Hi Wandering Family:Today I was able to get your blogs courtesy of LIAM I also got some messages from New hi Wandering Family: I enjoyed your blogs greatly I also got some which came earlier from \New Zealand which I was reading for the first time. The kids have just left with Steve for the airport. They are in good form. Uncle was a great hit with them. Today he took them go-cart racing and Liam said it was the most excitement he has ever had. Dad is in good form and Liam is going to drop by the Village to bid him goodbye. Very quiet here so we do get a kick out of your blogs. When do you hit Galapagos. We wish you all the best and have a great time. Miss you all. Love Dad Mam and Saga.
19th March 2012

Excellent!
Adrianne you are a writer in the making. I lol'd at your lovely way with words. Thanks for sharing your side of the story.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb