Loja...skip it


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Loja
November 9th 2011
Published: November 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It´s been one of those tough traveling days... always got to throw one or two into the mix. My morning in Cuenca started with a nice breakfast but the day turned when I stepped into minivan heading to Loja. My hotel reserved me a spot with the Elite touring company...well the three and half drive was really intense. The roads were curvy and the driver took every turn with very high speeds. Inside the car was too warm and the woman in front of me hardly cracked her window. I was sitting next to an american who smelled of smoke and body oder (I know we have all been in the not so fresh state...) For the last half hour I was hopping that I would not vomit from car sickness...I didn´t thank goodness.

So far Loja has not been very impressive. I think most places would suffer in comparsion to Cuenca. The central lacks charm and feels just any old mid size town. I tried two of the local dishes- Tamales de Loja and Empanada verde at El Tamal de Loja which were pretty tasty.

It´s rainy and I´m wet...think I will head to Vilcabamba tomorrow. Tonigh I am staying in an 8 dollar per night... will see if how I sleep tonight.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb