For those who dont know...


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Loja
March 5th 2008
Published: March 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cruz de MotupeCruz de MotupeCruz de Motupe

We visited a shrine one day in the mountains, Cruz de Motupe, and we got there on one of the two days a year when the bring the cross down the mountain.
Yes, I am still alive. Im having a great time and may have accidentially inspired some people along the way. I know it has been almost a month since I last posted, I’ve been pretty busy though. For those of you who are interested, here is a quick rundown of what I’ve been up to:

I helped organize a school supplies fundraiser for children in the mountains, recorded an audio transcript for an English teaching manual, swam in an ocean with dead fish, visited a religious shrine, scored the winning point for my team during a cell phone company promotional volleyball game, had a shirt and my cell phone stolen and appeared in a local television commercial and the newspaper.

I also finished up my teaching duties and am now finally going to get to do some traveling. Right now Im in Ecuador because I had to do a border crossing to get my visa extended. Ecuador is very nice actually from what I have seen so far. The place Im in is in the mountains and the clouds kind of drift around the tops of the peaks, threatening to rain, its really beautiful and the landscape is a
StepsStepsSteps

It was roughly a 1.5 to 2 mile hike up the mountain to get to the shrine. Along the way there were maybe 100 little stalls all selling the same crosses and pamplets. It is the rainy season here so everything is incredibly green.
million shades of green. I have plenty of photos to post but it doesn’t seem as if high speed internet has made it to this part of Ecuador, so I’ll post those when I get the chance.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

walkingwalking
walking

This is just a guy walking along the street in Ecuador.
Goat HerdersGoat Herders
Goat Herders

I hope this photo is not to dark. These are 2 brothers who are goat herders in Macara, Ecuador.
One of my classesOne of my classes
One of my classes

This is a photo of my smaller class. I had another class of 20.


10th March 2008

you sure have had quite a month. get that commercial up on YouTube or something so we can see it. Those mountains are amazing and I love the picture "walking". Glad to hear you are doing good.

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb