Road Warriors: What a Month It's Been


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
September 25th 2012
Published: July 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -2.89844, -79.015

We wanted to spend at least 3 weeks in Peru and were enjoying Ecuador so much we realized time was closing in on us. So to get to Peru, we ended up travelling a lot over 4 days – long bus rides snaking through the southern sierras of the Ecuadorian Andes and into the desert of northern Peru. Fascinating sights of deforested mountains, hardworking people with few amenities in their lives, and stunning vistas. Most of the women in the south of Ecuador continue to wear their traditional clothing – an embroidered blouse, a pleated skirt, a shawl and a hat. How is it in this day and age that a group of people can maintain their traditions? Fascinating.

These long bus trips are getting to me. I am at risk of dehydration due to my long held aversion to public bathrooms especially ones that are not clean. If I don't drink anything, I don't need to use them. In fact a number of my hang-ups have been tested lately. The scudgey hotel in Loja triggered me more. I pulled out my aromatherapy kit and treated the bed and bathroom. Not wanting my skin to have any contact with the bed, I crawled into my silk sleeping bag liner, that has not been out of my pack to date, ensuring that it separated me from the bed which now smelled overwhelmingly of lavender. Add to that my eye patch, ear plugs and some homeopathic sleep remedy (Calms Fort) and I could successfully pretend I was not really there. Contrary to this, almost no accommodation will bother Jim.

Which leads us to another area of tension. I like to spend a little extra money once in awhile for some of the, what I consider to be, delights of life - food, accommodation, clothing, jewellry. Jim doesn't share this practice. In fact he delights in saving money on most things except perhaps photography equipment. I remember a time camping on a Nova Scotia beach being eaten alive by mosquitoes and sand fleas. As we were falling asleep to the sound of the waves, he said to me, 'it doesn't get any better than this'. I imagined staying at a spa resort with a big comfortable bed, curtains waving in the breeze and a cocktail beside me and thought, 'who is this man I have married?!'

Our Spanish seems to be getting worse. Nothing is sticking and we feel more and more inept the longer we are here in South America. Neither of us were good at learning French in school and at least Jim has been honest with himself about the language barrier. I, on the hand, have had some romantic idea that I could get by and I could learn Spanish but I actually don't know if I could even if I tried. I am all about the potential, forgetting about the reality.

So as we begin to experience a bit of travel fatigue, we bump up against some of our differences and our own stuff. What's the saying...'everywhere I go there I am'? And as we find our rhythm and adjust to the changes and challenges, we become once again more resourceful and build our resilience. And, hey, we are back to enjoying the travel.

I am done whinging so will return to reporting our travels...

Two nights in Cuenca was probably not long enough, however, we did go to one of the most interesting museums we've seen, wandered through a colourful flower market and ate the best meal EVER at Tiesto's (an extraordinary experience of ambiance, service and delicious food).

We arrived in Loja late afternoon on Sunday after a 5-hour bus ride, preparing to stay one night before heading on a 9 hour cross-border bus to Piura, Peru. Little did we know that Loja virtually shuts down on Sunday and is a bit of a dive. We found a cute little place that was serving 'cuy' – which is the delicacy of guinea pig. I decided to try it so ordered a half of one. There was maybe 1.5 ounces of meat on that sucker! Anyway, it was tasty and worth trying. I think part of the treat is the skin but it seemed very thick and tough so I didn't eat it.

Now in Piura, which we don't like at all so have holed up in our clean room 😊 and spent the day napping, reading, writing, doing yoga (me) and processing photos (Jim). Tomorrow we are flying straight to Cusco where we will hang out to acclimatize for a few days before heading to Machu Pichu. The full moon is on Sunday Sept. 30 and we are hoping to be up there for that. Time to get to the best of Peru!



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



26th September 2012

Hey Donna! Lots of this entry reminded me of myself... I routinely dehydrate myself when working at Ironmans because I refuse to use the porta pottys! And Peter also has a love of seeing how much money he can save, whereas for me, food and
beds are worth it! :)When you're back (or if you need a new book along your trip) you should pick up "Turn Right at Macchu Pichu" by Mark Adams. He's a writer for magazines who decides to try to find and follow the original trail Hiram Bingham took to find Macchu Picchu and all the other Incan places along the way... a good read, and you're living it! Lots of love, shawna
26th September 2012

So appreciate your candor, sharing the personal and relational challenges of travelling. Thought of you several times as I sat in circle - a deep dive into the practice - with Christina and Ann. Several times they mentioned their work in
Halifax at Capital Health. Enjoy Machu Pichu...it's a place Sig and I would love to go. Love to you...
26th September 2012

Oh brother!
26th September 2012

Doesn't look so complex to me. Just saying ...
26th September 2012

That is so fantastic, the reason you are there.
26th September 2012

Just flovely...just think of all the protein you could add to your diet...
26th September 2012

I have stayed in rooms like that too Donna, looks like the little house I rented that looked too fantastic in Costa Rica! I love getting down & dirty but do look forward to the cocktail & massage at the end!!! Loving the blogging &a
mp; the amazing photos! Big Hugs!!!
27th September 2012

Thanks for sharing the trials and tribulations, every day you open your eyes is a new experience, a lifetime of memories. ENJOY we are always thinking about you guys Sue xoxo safe travels, we can't wait to read more!
27th September 2012

Finding your travelogue fascinating ......and Alice says your photographs should appear in National Geographic as they're so amazing. The Miller family are now envious that you're about to take on the challenge of Machu Pichu and wish we co
uld be embarking on this climb with you. Go for it! Sending you lots of love xxxxx
29th September 2012

I don't think you were whinging at all! When a friend of mine and I were traveling one of our favourite expressions was "it's only fun it you share." And that's what you were doing - sharing! I love it. And I also now know for sure that
Ian and Jim would travel well together! Another thing I loved being reminded of was Everywhere I go, there I am. Thanks for all of your words. Keep enjoying...
1st October 2012

You are a brave woman! (is that the head I can see on the left???)
3rd October 2012

Spectacular!
5th October 2012

Yes, that is the head! Even though I only had 1/2 a cuy, they gave me the entire head - how lucky. I suspect they may even eat parts of it but I didn't try that nor did I ask anyone :)

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb