First Day in Cuenca


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
January 15th 2008
Published: January 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bedroom View 1Bedroom View 1Bedroom View 1

Looking out my bedroom window
Well, I have arrived in Cuenca. The flight down was long, considering I got up at 3:30 A.M. on Sunday. I arrived in Houston about noon, had a four hour layover, then a five hour flight to Quito. I was met at the airport by someone from the school, and delivered to a modest hotel about 15 minutes drive away from the airport ($13 for the night). The room was small, but clean and quiet. I was worried about hot water, but there was no problem. I had a shower at midnight because I had to get up at 4:45 A.M. (which was 2:45 AM my time). A cab was waiting for me at 5:15 and I was at the airport at 5:30. I discovered the time on my ticket was a check-in time, not the flight time, so I was very early. Add to this that my flight was delayed for 45 minutes, so it was about 9 when we were airborne.

The flight from Quito to Cuenca was about 40 minutes, on an Embrauer 190 jet, the first time I have been on one of those. I assume by the flight time that Cuenca is about 300 kms south of Quito.

Norma, the wife part of my home stay hosts and her son Juan picked me up at the airport. Juan is a doctor in Chicago, and was home visiting. The family seems full of doctors: his mom, his dad, and one sister. The other sister is a computer engineer. I met Fernando (the father) briefly before he left for work. Juan dropped Norma off at work on our way back from the airport.

Their apartment is large and beautiful; it overlooks a busy street and a river. It is about 10 minutes walk from the downtown area. I have a lovely room with a private bath, and a view of the river, downtown, and some mountains. They have three meals a day; “el desayuno” (breakfast), “el almuerzo” (lunch, which is the big meal of the day), and “la merienda” evening meal.

Both Quito and Cuenca seem to have grown out rather than up, flying over both areas showed lots of 2-3 storey buildings with tile roofs. Few if any high-rises.

Late in the afternoon I walked over to the Escuela Simon Bolivar, where I will be taking my lessons. I walked along the river for a few blocks, then headed up the hill into the downtown area. There are a couple of long flights of stone steps up from the river. The streets are narrow and one-way (“uno via”), and continually plugged with traffic. Walking is the way to go here! Pedestrians have no right-of-way at all, so you take your life into your hands when you cross a street.

I met Pamela Calvas, who I have been corresponding about my course. She and the school seem fine so far. I start tomorrow morning at 8:30, and will meet my instructor Miguel.

I was concerned about the altitude down here, but aside from feeling the urge to draw a deep breath once in a while, I have had no other symptoms. I think Quito is close to 10,000 feet; Cuenca is over 8000’. My walk up the long flight of stairs from the river to downtown didn’t leave me out of breath, so I think I will have no problems.

The weather thus far has been a mix of sun and cloud. There was a brief shower around noon today. Temperature is comfortable, I walked in my shirt sleeves to the school today; I would have been comfortable in shorts. Humidity seems a bit higher than what I am used to in Edmonton.




Bien, he llegado en Cuenca. El vuelo abajo de por mucho tiempo, consideraba que me levanté a las 3:30 A.M. el domingo. Llegué a Houston a eso del mediodía, tuve una parada en el camino de cuatro horas, en ese entonces un vuelo de cinco horas para Quito. Fui conocido en el aeropuerto por alguien de la escuela, y me entregué un hotel poco pretencioso aproximadamente 15 paseo en coche de minutos fuera del aeropuerto ($13 por la noche). El cuarto fue pequeño, pero limpio y tranquilo. Estaba preocupado por agua caliente, pero no hubo problema. Me di una ducha a la medianoche porque tuve que levantarme a las 4:45 A.M. (Cuál fue el 2:45 AM de mi tiempo). Un taxi me estuvo esperando a las 5:15 y yo estaba en el aeropuerto a las 5:30. Descubrí que el tiempo en mi boleto fue un tiempo de registro de entrada, no el tiempo de vuelo, así es que fui muy temprano. Agrande este ese mi vuelo fue demorado por 45 minutos, así es que fue aproximadamente 9 cuando estábamos en el aire.

El vuelo de Quito para Cuenca fue a eso de 40 minutos, en un Embrauer 190 avión a reacción, la primera vez que he sido adelante uno de esos. Me hago cargo de por el tiempo de vuelo que Cuenca es acerca de 300 kms al sur de Quito.

Norma, la esposa en parte de mi estadía hogareña se desempeña como maestro de ceremonias y su hijo Juan me recogió en el aeropuerto. Juan es un doctor en Chicago, y estaba en casa haciendo una visita. La familia parece llena de doctores: Su mamá, su papá, y una hermana. La otra hermana es una ingeniera de la computadora. Conocí a Fernando (el padre) brevemente antes de que él saliese con destino al trabajo. Juan dejó a Norma en trabajo en nuestra muy parte trasera del aeropuerto.

Su apartamento es grande y bello; Pasa por alto una calle ocupada y un río. Son a eso de 10 minutos caminan del área del centro de la ciudad. Tengo un cuarto precioso con un baño privado, y una vista del río, en el centro, y algunas montañas.

Quito y Cuenca parecen haber crecido fuera en vez de arriba, sobrevolando ambas áreas mostraron montones de edificios del piso del 2-3 con techos de la teja. Pocos si cualquier torres de apartamentos.

A la caída de la tarde me pasé a la Escuela Simon Bolivar, donde tomaré mis lecciones. Anduve por el río para algunos bloques, en ese entonces con membrete arriba de la colina en el área del centro de la ciudad. Hay un par de largos vuelos de pasos de piedra levantados del río. Las calles son estrechas y de una sola vía (“ no oh por ”), y continuamente bloqueadas con tráfico. ¡Caminar es la forma de la que ir aquí! Los peatones no tienen derecho de paso del todo, así usted la toma su vida en sus manos cuando usted cruza una calle.

Conocí a Pamela Calvas, quién he estado correspondiendo acerca de mi curso. Ella y la escuela parecen que muy bien hasta ahora. Empiezo mañana por la mañana a las 8:30, y conoceré a mi instructor Miguel.

Estaba preocupado por la altitud aquí abajo, pero además de sentir el deseo para inspirar profundamente de vez en cuando, no he tenido otros síntomas. Pienso que Quito está próxima a 10,000 pies; Cuenca está próxima a 8,000 pies. Mi paseo arriba del largo tramo de escalera del río para en el centro no me omitió de aliento, así es que pienso que no tendré problemas.

El clima así de mucho más ha sido nube y sol una mezcla de. Hubo un aguacero breve alrededor mediodía hoy. La fiebre es muy cómoda, caminé en mis mangas de la camisa para la escuela hoy; Me habría encontrado a gusto en pantalones cortos. La humedad parece un poco más alto de lo que soy capaz de en Edmonton.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Rio Tomebamba 1Rio Tomebamba 1
Rio Tomebamba 1

This is the river by my apartment. ¨Tomebamba¨was the name the Inca had for this area before the Spanish renamed it.
Norma y JuanNorma y Juan
Norma y Juan

Norma is my host


15th January 2008

You lucked out!
Wow, nice first blog and great pix. Your home stay apartment looks really nice and huge compared to what I imagined. Glad you are getting settled in and not finding the altitude too much. Can't wait for more - keep them coming! thanks Juan.
16th January 2008

Glad to hear you made it.
Looks very nice John. Makes us anxious for summer to return here. Wish you well in your first few days. Regards Mark, Shirley, Sara and Matthew.

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb