What Have I Gotten Myself Into?


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
April 12th 2007
Published: April 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

View of CuencaView of CuencaView of Cuenca

View of Cuenca from Eduadro´s house.
You may have picked up from the ending comment of my last journal entry, I’m a bit overwhelmed. However, I’ve managed to survive the first week and am now into my second week.

The Spanish lessons I’ve signed up for through the end of April are very difficult. My teacher, Viviana, is very sweet, patient, and speaks to me only in Spanish with occasionally throwing in a word or two of English to explain a word I don’t know. We talk a lot, too. In Spanish, of course. We’ve covered world politics, religion, domestic violence, and child abuse among other things. I don’t know how we get sidetracked into these conversations. I’m surprised at how much I understand so I guess whatever she’s doing is working. We talk so much we don’t make much progress with the lessons sometimes! She gives me homework, too. Compositions to write. It’s a lot of work.

The volunteer ´program´ is quite ..... disorganized. Which is putting it mildly. It is an after school program for kids whose parents are working on other countries (probably the US). The kids run wild. I was told to determine my own activities and organize the kids.
Cueca Flower MarketCueca Flower MarketCueca Flower Market

There are many markets in Cuenca and these other towns. This is a beautiful flower market in Cuenca
When I was first told about this, my first thought was ´Crap, what have I gotten myself into now? I don’t know anything about kids! ´ I had no idea of what to do! So, I immediately e-mailed my amiga, Susan, Ms. Teacher of the Year, and begged for advice and ideas on what to do. Her response was to laugh at my predicament but she did get back to me with some ideas. The kids, while out of control, seem to be fond of me. I guess I’m the new, fun thing. They don’t seem to mind my terrible Spanish and will repeat themselves over and over! I gave a little talk, in Spanish, about the US and places in the US, brought in some pictures for them to color, and have started teaching them some body parts in English with the goal to teach them the song ´Head Shoulders Knees and Toes´. Susan sent me lyrics, unfortunately, I can remember the tune. I’ve pestered everyone at my school if they know it. I think they think I’m crazy! The kids are very funny. They are obsessed with wanting to know what their names are in English and ask
Catedral de la InmaculadaCatedral de la InmaculadaCatedral de la Inmaculada

The Catedral dominates the main plaza. This is just a few blocks from my hotel and school.
over and over to see the light on my digital watch! While the kids demand a lot of attention, I never lack for something to do and I am never lonely. I always have an entourage of four, five or fifteen kids dragging me around to play with them!

I’ve finally figured out the bus system. The first time I tried to use it, I couldn’t find the right bus so I took a cab. Which took me to the wrong place! The second time, I got on the right bus but it was going the wrong way. I finally made it to my destination; it just took me about twice as long as it should have. I’m now an expert at flagging down and jumping onto a still moving bus that is going my way!

Cuenca itself is a very quaint colonial city with a population similar to Sacramento. I am staying in the central city right next to the school which is very convenient! But, it is very noisy. There are many excellent and cheap restaurants nearby. And a church on every corner. Street vendors, markets and begging mothers with children are everywhere. I got a
Food Market in Sig SigFood Market in Sig SigFood Market in Sig Sig

This is in a market in Sig Sig. Believe it or not, it smelled delicious! I hope you appreciated that I spared you the foto of the cuy (guinea pig) on a spit.
´cleaning´at one market which involves some woman beating me with a bunch of flowers and herbs, rubbing a hard boiled egg all over my body - no body part spared. I wondered aloud to Eduardo, who was filming this event, as she was working on my chest if it would make my boobs grow bigger? Then, there was the grand finale, spitting in my face with some kind of alcoholic beverage! This cleaning was performed in the middle of the market. And, believe it or not, I paid for this public abuse! I have to say, I did feel a little tingling afterward. Maybe I was allergic to the herbs or something. Or, maybe it did clean my soul a little!

I do have some time for some recreation. There are salsa classes, which are beginning classes. But, it is fun to hang out with my new friends Emily, John and Edward. This past weekend, John, Edward and I took a trip to Sig Sig. A little town about an hour from Cuenca. We heard there was supposed to be a big artisan market, but there wasn’t. It was a nice outing anyway and I was happy to get
Parade in CuencaParade in CuencaParade in Cuenca

Foto from one of the many parades celebrating the 450 years since the founding of Cuenca.
to a smaller, less touristy place.

Easter here is called Semana Santa and it is a week long celebration. Friday they celebrate with a dish called ´fanesca´. It’s a mix of 12 different types of grains and vegetables, fish, and other condiments such as bananas and eggs that are thrown in just before serving. The significance of the dish is the 12 grains represent the 12 disciples; the fish is Jesus, and the condiments the unbelievers. It’s OK. Eduardo is staying with a family and they invited me over for this holiday dinner. It was an interesting experience. The family was nice, the fanesca tasty, but it was a little overwhelming. Allot of Spanish being spoken that I didn’t understand!

There seems to be a lot of holidays in this city. This week, they are celebrating the 450 years since the founding of the city. There are many parades and activities are going on throughout the city in honor of this historic event.

I’m settling into life here in Cuenca, getting into a rhythm of sorts. School in the morning, work in the afternoon, homework at night. Not much time for anything else includes TV or reading. I fall asleep exhausted around 9:30 or 10:00 and wake up at 7:45 to get to class (don’t get any ideas about this becoming a habit, Terry! I’ll never make it to work that early!)

Well, I’ve rambled on long enough! Hope all of you are doing well! I’ll provide another update in another week or so!

Adios, Amigos,

LuAnne


Luanne’s Journey: http://www.travelblog.org/gmaps/map_3nE.html


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb