I made it another week


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North
November 14th 2008
Published: November 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´m still recovering from my flu or whatever it was but doing really good mentally. All the volunteers had a hard week, either sick or breaking down. One girl from Austria who was supposed to be here for 8 months, left. She couldnt take it anymore. It´s sad, cause I know (from experience) that it gets better.
I had to change my attitude about everything. And it worked, even though a lot of things still suck. It has gotten so much better and easier with the kids though. They have become much closer to us and they are so happy to see us every morning.
Its also really cool for me that Martin ended up in the same class with me. Its the toughest class, the toughest kids, so they put several volunteers in there. Good thing, cause I absolutely cant handle them by myself.
They looooovvvve Tio Martin. Yes, we are all Tias and Tios. He only plays with them and never yells or anything. But he never had to stay with them by himself. Thats when you really freak out and you realize that you need to be a little stronger. Today there was some kind of party. So yesterday we had to make stuff from them but the teacher wouldnt give us any information. So we made crowns from papper. The kids were so excited and grateful. well, most of them. Some think they are too cool for us.
And today we found out that there was a contest for the most original costums between all the grades. We were so mad, if we had known we would have worked all night to make sure 3rd grade won. I don´t know its just weird how disorganized they are and how little information we get about whats going on. I feel like they could use us so much better. Like doing some one on one with the kids who cant read. I think I´ll talk to the director next week. She seems to really like me and respect me now. So maybe she´ll listen.
There is apparently a big fiesta at the school tomorrow, but again we dont really know whats going on. So I was going to go to Otavallo for the weekend but I´m gonna stay here instead and go to the fiesta.

I didnt take any spanish classes this week but I miss the atmosphere of the school. People there are really nice and it feels like home a little bit. When you are lost in a different country with a different culture and a different language, you look for the safety and security of familiar places and people and school is one of them for me.

Tonight I´m meeting Martin after his class and we are gonna go hang out with the Ecuadorian hippies I guess. Should be interesting. I hang out with people who are so not my crowd. And i have to say, as much as I hate it, I feel SO OLD.

Missing you all
A LOT.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb