Eso Es...


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
October 2nd 2011
Published: October 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Quito, Ecuador


After months of scrupulous planning...not, I arrived in Quito Saturday afternoon. I stayed in a beautiful hotel for the first two nights. Hotel Anahi is in New Town, also called Mariscal Sucre. What a beautiful hotel! The room had a balcony, king size bed, hot shower, cable TV with English channels even and an awesome breakfast included in the price. Its a few blocks from all the restaurants and clubs. There are armed guards across and at the end of the street. Its safe to walk around during the day but very unsafe to walk after dark.

On Sunday, I decided to take the bus and explore Old Town or Centro Historico. Little did I know when I took the bus , it dropped me off in a sketchy area. I really enjoyed walking around Old Town. Hundreds a people were strolling around the plaza, listening to music, eating and making purchases. Next week I plan to take a walking tour so I can remember and learn about what I am looking at... I arrived safely back to my beautiful hotel. Note to self- don't take the bus that stops in Plaza Marin.

After two nights in comparable luxury, I moved into a lovely hotel, La Casa de Sol located in the heart of New Town. See pictures.

On Tuesday, I started language classes at Guayasamin Spanish School. Classes are from 9 to 11. My teacher is Marta and hopefully I will be spectacularly fluent after 3 weeks.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb