The Egrets Have Landed!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
May 28th 2006
Published: May 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Quito Old Town At NightQuito Old Town At NightQuito Old Town At Night

A picture of Quito Old Town taken last week on the way to dinner.
May is drawing to a close, and to mark the end of the wet season the white egrets from the coast have migrated to the mountains, making an odd sight perched on the cloud forest trees near our house. Another month is almost over, and my Galapagos holidays are rapidly approaching... I can't believe the time is passing so fast. The week has been as action-packed as usual, with a few amusing incidents along the way, including one of the volunteers cutting through our house's water supply with a machete, and Tuesday's volunteer weeding rebellion...but all has worked out well in the end. The work this week has been very physical, with lots of macheting, clearing and hoeing in the reforestation lines (we might have heard a bear in the forest on Monday afternoon...maybe...), so there were lots of very tired people come the end of the week.

While all that was happening, I have managed to finish and send out the fundraising leaflet for the community education project, write and send a job advertisement for English teachers, and help our newest volunteer Helen, a 61-year-old New Zealander to settle in. I've also tried unsuccessfully to take photos of the
Spot the Toucan...Spot the Toucan...Spot the Toucan...

hint: it's green, and it's looking the other way just ti spite me...
toucans that are increasingly sitting in the tree outside my bedroom window, but so far they are having none of it!

This week has also seen the explorations of nearly all the farm animals, with the goats being seen everywhere around the farm except their pen, and the latest piglets, who are now five weeks old, frequently seen in expedition parties beyond the gates to the farm. Of all pur resident explorers, these guys are the cutest, and can often be seen, ears all aflap, running back to their mother when thet realise they've been caught where they shouldn't be. They are the naughty schoolboys of the reserve, curious but with a creeping guilty conscience....

So I am writing this in haste, sitting in my bed at the hostal trying to reply to my last few emails before I head off to the Galapagos early tomorrow morning (a 5.45 wakeup call). I think I have packed everything I need. An inpromptu second trip up the Teleferiquo with three of the other volunteers (and a climb just 40m short of the summit of Rucu Pinchincha, the dormant volcano that sits over Quito) this morning has meant that all my organisation time was squeezed into the last two hours before the shops shut, which was a bit of a mission. I think I have managed to remember everything I need. The amazing views of Quito were worth it (much better than last time, not nearly so cloudy), even if the bright red face I have now is the cost! If I haven't emailed you this week I humbly apologise, and I'll email when I get back into Quito next Thursday.

UPDATE SUNDAY MORNING: Unfortunately my boat trip to the Galapagos islands has been postponed as when I got to the airport the rep said that our boat had suffered engine failure and we wouldn't be able to go this week. I am going next Wednesday instead, which will be great when it comes. Right now I am very tired! So in the mean time I will do some more bits and pieces and go back to the reserve....

So, bye for now chicos! I hope you are all well and happy.
xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb