now what


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
September 2nd 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, I´ve been thinking a lot. I have gone over my 3 options many times in my head. Do I go home in less than 2 weeks because I am running low on money and it is the easiest option? Do I leave Ecuador in the next 2 weeks, go to Northern Peru have a great backpack-y time and fly home from Lima? Do I stay in Ecuador go back to Merazonia, hang out in Quito, and visit Otavalo, basically hanging around for the next month and a half avoiding going back to the US?

I of course asked my friends on facebook guess what they ALL said? GO to Peru! But I was thinking about the 26 hrs of buses, and traveling by myself for longer, and worrying, and loneliness so I wasn´t positive about that decision. Then I found a great 2-way flight from Quito to Miami and back for $400 and I thought... why go to Peru I´m enjoying Ecuador. So I´m pretty sure I´m staying here. (of course I will have to ¨miss¨my flight back but thats what they get for making round trip cheaper.)

I finally went out with one of the scientists from bilsa and his girlfriend last night. I was so nervous because he doesn´t speak English and my Spanish is only mediocre, but since his girlfriend came, and she is from Seattle there was no problem. In fact I we met at 7 and I didn´t leave until 2am. We are hopefully going out next week again. It´s nice to relax and get to know a place better. That´s how I started my trip and it makes sense to end it that way. Since when do I do anything like everyone else? I don´t have to be the average backpacker either. With downtime I can start thinking about what will happen with my life when I´m back home too. I think It´s good to have down time. I just need to not spend too much money and eat too much crap and I´ll be great.

The only downside. I hear the office I have to go to often has lines forming out front at 4am... I figure if I buy my ticket I can´t change my mind, so that is my goal for today... that and convince Santiago to come to Otavalo and help me haggle even though he hates doing it.


I know this isn´t that interesting but sometimes writing does help... oh god maybe this is turning into an emo blog!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb