Butterflies and Hummingbirds


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
August 1st 2010
Published: August 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, well, well.
Here I am back in Beautiful, bustling, packed-in Quito. It is a valley-city. before, I looked up, impressed with the heights of the surrounding mountains, at the views of volcanoes. I had no idea that I would be venturing to such beautiful placed outside of here so soon!
Before I came to Ecuador, even in the initial plnning of my journey, I felt compelled to incorperate vipassana meditation into it. As wise persons have reminded me, travel is much better if one is securely in the body, in tune with its sensations. Also, as an ¨old student¨ of the Vipassana technique, I felt like sitting a ten-day course would be a wise way to begin: intentional, practical, helpful, yet familiar. I was happy to find that elements from my first course I had hoped for were present, inlcuding a peaceful space, nourishing vegetarian food, and kind-hearted folks. It was a great space to reflect on where (who) I am presently, and keep building tools of insight. Not easy, but recommended (dhamma.org).
We just so happened to head out of Quito about two and a half hours to a Hostal-slash-botanical garden for the course. I was hoping to get to the cloud forest but had no idea that I would be meditating there for a week and a half!
The plants are such a beautiful, bright green, so many layers of life. I especially enjoyed feeling like I was taken town a few notches in size, because some of the trees and shrbs had gigantic leaves that dwarfed me! They felt like faery landing pads for human-sized folks!
Also, an enormous amount of the planets biodiversity of birds and butterflies is contained in that region of Ecuador! Mega-butterflies gallavanted past, some with a wing the size of my hand! Also, hummingbirds come in many colors, and are not as shy as they are around here. I got reminded of my mom´s hummingbird feeders, as they dashed around the flowers in blurs or color and sound. Once, I was meditating in my room and a cute little blue one came inside, and buzzed around for about an hour, at times only half a foot from my face! Also, a hummingbird landed on my index finger and stayed there for about a minute before flying of in a smear of electric green. Also, interesting vines and all ssorts of orchids and epiphytes grow here.
When we arrived it was pouring down rain, and i cried and smiled with how much the wetness and green reminded me of home. Yay! One of the nicest parts about it was having an actual atmosphere. The clouds kept harsh sun out and felt insulating, bvery peaceful. However, I felt luck that they cleared for the wonderous full moon and some incredibly starry nights.
Also, whoever has been to sub-tropical or similar areas most likely can attest to the veritable orchestra of birds, insects, frogs, toads (and in this case, dogs, horses, screaming roosters, and cows at most hours of the day....and night!). It was vibrant and beautiful, and I made a friend who manages a reserve ina nearby area. In all probablility, I may return to this region for some volunteering on my next time around Ecuador.
Which brings me to the present moment: what next? I have plans for language school in Cusco in a bit more than a week, then have some textile-type homestays set up afterwards. I´ll be going to the school for two weeks and staying with a familiy (!), and plan to do more Spanish tutoring in another Andean city, Huancayo. I´m plesantly suprised by my increasing grasp of Spanish, and glad to be able to understand and communicate lots of things (although roughly). On one hand, its abyssmal that I can´t show people the respect of communicating in their national language, yet on the other hand I am kind of enjoying coming up with interesting gestures and metaphores to express myeslf.
I finally found a good $7 hostal, and cheep, yummy food, so now there is less stress about that. I´m feeling confident about my general state of mind, and grateful to have a couple of days back in Quito before going to Peru. I have found information about taking the bus to Cusco, and a combination of air and bus travel. As muchas I would like to leave Quito with a ticket-in-hand for my final destination, it doesn´t seem to work that way. Everyone I´ve talked to, for the most part, recommends simply going to the bus station, and wokring your way ther city-by-city. Of course, with busses, there´s the typical stealing-of-valuables and reckless-driving concerns, yet I´m feeling pretty equanimous about it. However, depending on what I can find out while I´m here, I may fly to Lima and then bus from there. We´ll see. Yay for gaining altitude slowly, and having a huse for all the fleece and long underwear beneath the warm-weather clothes I´ve been utilizing thus far.
I met a medical student from California at the course, and I am definitely indulging in some familiar company (also, internet galore and other creature comforts) for these couple of days.
So, all is well in the world of me. (And now I´m 21! I´m so glad I spent it doing some soul-cleasnsing under the moon and stars instead or wasted in some bar for the sake of it. Although, that serves its purposes, too!)
I would like to figure out how to transfer pictures from the trip thus far onto the computer, so maybe that will be a task for tomorrow!
I hope you all are fantastic! Happy summer! Is the salal ripe yet? I wonder if the thimbleberries are all but gone! Yum!


Advertisement



2nd August 2010

:) There are still a few thimbleberries around. Glad to see you're doing well, and that another vipassana was a good experience for you and a good way to start out your trip. I'm excited to see pictures and to hear more! Janine
3rd August 2010

It is awesome to read about your travels sister. Lughnassad on Bear Mountain was grounded and full of surprises. Heading to orcas Island with some of the Leos. Happy birthday lady! Each day I am sure is like a new birth for you and I hope that you feel at home within yourself. Ever proud of you sister and loving that I can read about your travels!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb