Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
November 14th 2005
Published: November 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So I got up at a ridiculously early time, 4.30am, and got a taxi to the airport. Was a bit stressed about catching the connection in Lima, as I only had less than an hour to do so. The trip, however, turned out to be the easiest flight ive ever caught, full marks to Taca International Airlines! I only waited for about 15 mins in Peru (cant really say ive been to Peru, never got a stamp and didnt set foot on Peruvian soil) The flight to Quito was short and chatted to some middle aged men next to me who couldnt quite believe I didnt even know where i was staying when i got off the plane. They kept on saying 'valiente'. So many people have said im brave im half starting to believe it! Got through immigration just in time to see my bag sailing out onto the conveyor belt, god was indeed smiling on me that day. Took a taxi to the hostel, Centro del Mundo. Quito is sprawling and overcast, but its surrounded by green hills that nicely satisfy my cravings for scotland 😊 Caught up on some internet admin at an internet place, the area where im staying is brimming with gringos, they call it gringoland. Went back to the hostel and found everyone watching Lord of the Rings. Then the hostel owner produced a bucket of rum and coke and some paper cups - all free! We dived in, and i got chatting to a guy called Andy and some French guys. Andy was travelling with Steve, both like me had just finished uni at Plymouth. By 1am i was flagging, and called it a night.

Next day I went out with Andy and Steve, Mike a guy in my room, and Melissa an american girl, and Bonnie from England. We went up the teleferico to a hill overlooking Quito, very foggy and cloudy at the top, which was a shame but it eventually cleared a bit. I got quite sick from the altitude. When i went to Bolivia i suppose i climbed the height gradually, but i had just flown from sea level to 4,100 metres. I felt pretty sick, wanting to throw up, couldnt really breathe well, and my heart pounded. At one point I came very close to collapsing. But it passed, and we went back down and looked round the Old town, had some lunch and got caught in another tropical storm. In the afternoons it seems the heavens just open, big fat rain with terrible thunder. We were walking along the road and there was some lightening followed by the most frightening thunder i have EVER heard, louder than you can possibly imagine, i actually jumped from the shock and semi cowered, for a split second i thought we were under attack! Came back and cahanged out of my sodden clothes, went to the internet place and caught up on my diary! I need to set about booking a tour to the jungle, but im likeing these people and this hostel, so think i'll just take things as they come. More news soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb