Boohoo to Chief Wahoo


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
October 22nd 2007
Published: October 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

So Sue and I are in Quito for meetings. We arrived Sunday afternoon, hit a grocery store to buy some much needed supplies for our place in Puyo, then met up with some friends at a sports bar to watch the Indians game. I wish I could report good news, but alas, the Tribe's light was extinguished last night. I can honestly say I am disappointed, but not devastated. Every part of the season was exciting to follow, though I only actually was able to see I think a total of 4 games. Anyhow, they are a young team and a talented team. It was fun to have people around me at the bar last night ask who their players were - because they had never heard of any of them except a handful.

Life in Puyo and Ecuador has been rather slow and dull since we returned from the States. I have a lot of projects lined up, just waiting to get started, but I'm dragging my feet a little and my counterpart is dragging his feet a lot. They have a lot of other projects going on, so little time to devote to my end of things. No worries though, I plan on branching out on my own and going to visit the schools in the area next week. I want to meet with principals and teachers to discuss the Environmental Ed. guide I have been working on.

Susan was gone most of last week at a workshop a dentro in one of the Waorani communities. She has a long and interesting story to tell about that experience, so you'll have to read up on her blog to follow along.

Last week we went to the same pizza place/internet cafe in Puyo to use SKYPE and to follow the Indians. We ended up going there Tuesday and Thursday, both times we had pizza. Then unbeknownst to me, my co-workers arranged a little birthday get together at the same place on Friday. So we had pizza three times in one week - that is a rarity. By the time my birthday rolled around (Saturday the 20th), I didn't feel much like going out for dinner. Sue and I stayed home, made some omelets for dinner, and watched a couple of movies on the laptop.

I painted yet another room in our apartment. It looks pretty good and is much better than the dusty pink color that was there before. All we have let to paint is our bedroom and the 2nd bedroom. We'll have to save up to do that though - we've blown through our PC budget for this month for sure. Paint runs us about $21 a gallon (same as in the states). We could get cheaper paint, but you get what you pay for and the paint tends to dry and leave a powdery residue that rubs off on you if you lean against it. We'll stick with the higher quality stuff. I tell you, when we finally move out of this apartment, the next people who live there will be happy with the improvements that we've made.

We talked yesterday about wanting to get bikes as well. PC used to give them to volunteers, but because of budget cutbacks, no bikes are offered. We decided that we'd each save $5 a week and that sometime in January we'd have enough to get bikes. We both want to be able to venture around Puyo and the campo more on weekends. I doubt that we'd use them to ride to work, unless we were running late. These would be more for recreation than anything else.

My second basketball game was canceled for a reason I do not know, however, I believe that I'll be playing on Wednesday. I'm looking forward to playing and can only hope that I can get this 33 year-old body moving well enough not to embarrass myself.

Ciao from Ecualand,
Jeremy

Advertisement



23rd October 2007

Hello
Hello Mr. King. My name is Caity Zahard, and I am a senior at CHS. I never got to have you as a teacher but I just wanted to tell you that I think what you are doing is awesome! By reading your blogs, I can tell that it must be hard at times but it just seems fun too. I hope all is well over there, and good luck with your saving for a bike! Have a good one! Caity Z

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb