Hola from Quito!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
September 21st 2005
Published: September 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

My hero :)My hero :)My hero :)

Bush I catches a little breeze in the Houston Airport.
Hola!

Yep. Brenna, Ami and I are here in Quito, safe and sound. We arrived late Monday, and Ami's cousin's inlaws picked us up at the airport and took us to our hostal, Posada del Maple. It's been such an exhausting few days that I don't even know where to begin, but unfortunately (not for you, I suppose!) I have to be brief, as I am currently hogging the only computer at our hostal.

Our hostal is located in La Mariscal, the tourist district of Quito. Yesterday we wandered around, found lunch and then came back here with the intention of just stopping by and putting on sunscreen. In actuality we all crashed on our beds, and woke up with enough time to eat a snack, find an internet/phone cafe, call our folks and then meet Ami's cousin's inlaws. They took us to their apartment (which took an hour -- yikes!) where they showed us around, fed us fresh jugo and frutas, tea and pan (wow -- what an amazing Spanish vocab I have!). And all the while I sat there silently, wishing I could understand just a tiny bit more of what was being said and wishing I
Posada del MaplePosada del MaplePosada del Maple

My first hostal room!
could say more then "si" and "gracias." They have been so kind to us and I wish there was a way for me to articulate that, but sadly I cannot yet. My Spanish is getting marginally better, but not nearly good enough to survive on my own. Blah.

Well, the same guy has walked by about 4 times now, so I think I should go. Will report more later, I promise!

Miss ya,
em

Advertisement



23rd September 2005

It's a good thing that your hostel has at least one computer, Shamrock. Otherwise we would have no way of knowing about all the wonderful things you are eating, and the places you are going. Don't worry about letting your hosts know that you appreciate their hospitality, though. Your smile carries a universal message:)
23rd September 2005

I enjoyed your first entry, Shamrock. Don't worry too much about letting your hosts know that you appreciate their hospitality. Your smile sends a universal message.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb