Successful tourism


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
August 5th 2005
Published: August 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I made it to that museum (Museo del Banco) in the end, the one that was closed last time. It was ace, with loads of wicked pottery and gold and also some art that was a bit more boring. I made the mistake of going at 12, without having had lunch. At about 1, I looked up from the display cases with a rumbling stomach and realised I was only about a fifth of the way through the first room of five. I quickly became more discerning in what was allowed to hold my attention to finish off the rest of the whole thing in another hour.

Then the next day I did more mountain biking, down from 4500m up Cotopaxi Volcano. It was great fun and the views were something special. Just not long enough - only on the bike for about three hours in total. I muct have disjointed and rejointed both my thumbs on the ride at some point - that´s the only way to explain how painful they´ve been since.

Saturday brought a trip to Ottalvalo for its famous market, which probably wasn´t worth the effort really.

Itching to be out of Quito now,
Cotopaxi VolcanoCotopaxi VolcanoCotopaxi Volcano

Where we cycled from. Can you see the refugia here we started? It´s yellow, just below the snow line.
but have stupidly left myself unarranged and now it´s Sunday and all the agencies etc. are closed. I´m going to be short of time in Colombia.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb