Temporary abandonment of the unadulterated pursuit of pleasure


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
July 19th 2005
Published: July 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Like a mentalist, I have enrolled for five four-hour Spanish lessons, on five consecutive days. Four hours in a row! One on one, so no sitting back and thinking about netball/lunch/my cat. I started yesterday and I´m due there in twenty minutes. She´s going to test me. I was learning verbs in bed at 7.30 this morning. Oh my goodness.

Don´t worry anyone, I´ve already made, ooh, four friends. We´re going to watch an FA cup type football match on Sunday. How nice.

My hostal owner guy really has taken a shine to be, btw. Whenever I come in, he engages me in conversation (in Spanish, might I add) about how my room is, and how he´s going to get the carpenter to sort out the lock on the bathroom door (which works, but is just a bit loose) so sorry about that and also tomorrow I can move to a bigger room with a bigger bed, whilst I´m perfectly happy with my bed in my room.

Prices here just aren´t what they were in Bolivia. Last night, I blew $11 on dinner! I´m going to be a nightmare when I get back to London, aren´t I, balking left, right and centre? I'd avoid me for a while.

Advertisement



19th July 2005

just made it thru the journal - good effort! enjoy watching the footie ......and good luck being a mentalist - learning verbs at 7.30 in the moring def qualifies you!
20th July 2005

Sounds like you can speak spanish already, if you can understand your hostal guy. I consider myself pretty good at spanish too, managing to survive a weekend in barcalona with only a few spanish words such as vino blanco, vino tinto, cerveza. Its amazing how the heart always gets what it wants. Tell us more about your new friends, nationalities etc pls (are we allowed to use this thing to make requests) or recite some more austin. xx
20th July 2005

There was a writer called Jane Austin, affectionately known as "Calamity Jane". She was a 19th-century Texan author, frontierswoman, and proto-feminist. Unfortunately, I´m not familiar enough with her work to provide reliable quotations. Now, had you wanted Jane Austen, I could have helped you out... But who am I to talk?! I´ve read what I´ve written: didn´t they have dictionaries/teachers at my school!? So it will have to be travelling people. Are stories about people you´re never going to meet boring? OK, well, last night I met a Chris (US) and a Clara (Netherlands) for a drink at 9. I was on the Caipirinas, Steve the cuba libras and Clara the tea (yeah, just normal tea). We went to a bar we expected to be a place for a quiet nightcap but it was more like a small nightclub full of v young Ecuadorians and had a bit of a dance before going home at two. This is one end of a fairly large group of people all at the same language school (not mine). Is this at all interesting?
21st July 2005

some spanish for you to try
tengo pechos muy grandes y le encuentro muy atractivo, voluntad usted tiene por favor mi Sr. bar man de los bebés. This phrase may come in useful liz, found it on the internet, try it our and let us know the response, loving the journals, keep them coming! ruthie xxxx
21st July 2005

hola muchacho grande, mi nombre es liz y puedo tirar a bolas del pong del silbido de bala de mis pedacitos groseros another classic...maybe not to be used near children xx
21st July 2005

Ruth, that is SO funny. I'd have to be pretty drunk to try them though, and that would be the wors time to do it...
25th July 2005

please.....do it!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb