Finally made it!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
February 18th 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, we finally arrived in Quito after a horrible long flight only to find my bag didn´t make it and is stuck in Madrid (hopefully). Though seeing some of the bags coming through completely torn open makes me think it could have been worse. I´m staying in Quito along with two others with Lorena who works for the Spanish school which I start tomorrow. She´s being nice at the moment and speaking English but told us in no uncertain terms that it will be Spanish only from tomorrow! Settling in ok and went into the centre of Quito (about a ten minute walk if you know where you´re going, half an hour for us) to look around. The city is dead at the moment as everyone is away for Carnival.

Quito looks lovely and area is really quite beautiful but I´m going to need some time to acclimatise to the altitude. Feeling a bit dizzy at the moment. Most people seem keen to do Galapagos so we might look into companies in Quito while we´re here before we head south.

My bag finally turned up this evening after having to borrow clothes off people. A taxi turned up at
Bored at the airport!Bored at the airport!Bored at the airport!

We were here for a very long time!
about 8 in the rain with it. No idea how they found me as I didn´t leave an address but I´m not complaining. Only one zip broken and a few things crushed. Could have been much worse - there was a group of Germans at the airport who had lost seven bags and a kayak. Yep, a kayak!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb