ALTITUDE AND ATTITUDE


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito » Historical Center
June 23rd 2015
Published: July 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Community FountainCommunity FountainCommunity Fountain

An active social place.
The taxi driver drove through narrow streets littered with cups, paper, and bottles looking for my hotel. The buildings were covered in Graffiti. After twenty four hours of travel I was finally in Quito, Ecuador. I had chosen to stay in the old city because of the many heritage sites. Now I was having second thoughts. When he finally found the hotel the driver walked me to the door and the concierge, Carlos, helped me with my luggage. My room is on the second/third floor and has two large windows that overlook the plaza and the fountain. I soon discovered life is happening here. There are often lovers embracing, mothers or fathers spending time here with their toddler, men eating lunch, and musicians playing for the passerby. Motorcycles park under the large palm tree. You can see the Central bus station, as well as the off ramp from one of the major highways (this turned out to be a good landmark for finding my hotel).



The room itself is a mix of good and not so good. There is no heat. The big windows have solid doors that can be latched, but there are large gaps so cold
Golden GlowGolden GlowGolden Glow

The sight that greets me each morning.
air can creep in. Having just arrived from Guanica, Puerto Rico, where the average temperature was in the high eighties, my room seemed almost glacial. Luckily there were warm blankets on the beds, and a heavy coverlet. I have a nice private bath. The room could use a fresh coat of paint, but there are two small paintings decorating the walls and the room is graced with quaint wooden topped metal nightstands and a matching desk. The brass fittings on the windows and doors are antique. There are two beds; I use the single one for my suitcase, clothing, etc., and sleep in the comfortable double bed.



The first night I got in so late, I just wanted a cup of tea and sleep. There was a bottle of water in my room, and when I picked it up I realized I couldn’t open it. I just don’t have enough strength in my hands any more. I thought about finding my sharp kitchen knife, and then thought better of it. Knives are a hazard for me on good days, and when I am exhausted it is better to not even try. So I just crawled into bed and fell asleep.



I woke the next morning with a stiff neck and a bad headache and decided to go down to the dining room for breakfast. When I opened the door my mood instantly lifted. The view that greeted me is the real reason to stay at Mia Leticia. The sun was streaming down from the skylight over the lobby and common area. Hallways with polished dark wooden balustrades surround the open space. Plants thrive and drape gracefully over the banisters. The risers on the stairs are decorated tile and the wood floors gleam. The walls are painted yellow and orange and the golden glow offers a cheerful greeting to the day. There are wonderful Ecuadorian paintings on three walls and four floors and a collection of wrought iron crosses that look like weather vanes are artfully arranged on one wall drawing your eye up to an interesting wrought iron chandelier.



I was served a big glass of fresh orange juice and several cups of tea. I ordered two eggs and there were two delicious croissants. I didn’t have much appetite, even though I hadn’t eaten much the day before. I mentioned to Carlos that I was a little nauseated and he told me it was probably the altitude. I was unaware that Quito is over 9000 feet high. He gave me a tea bag of mate de coca tea, and it did help, but it took two full days before I felt up to par. I just dragged around, unable to smile, and unable to accomplish anything. I napped and complained to my family and friends on the internet. Finally Michael suggested looking up remedies for high altitude on the internet. The suggestions included rest, lots of water, ibuprofen, and dark chocolate. I had already done the first three, so I went to the supermarket and bought a big bar of baking chocolate. I am enjoying it, and I am feeling better.



On day three, I woke up, took a hot shower, did some laundry, had breakfast and went to the supermarket and several other stores. The sun was shining. I was feeling better. I had my energy back. I decided to have a manicure…a rare thing for me. I wanted to pamper myself. Here in Quito it is such a bargain; a fancy design manicure costs $1.50. This is the first time I have had such a multi-colored manicure. The shop was very full and it was a lengthy process, but I was cheered by the results. Then I set off on my first adventure – to see the Mitad del Mundo.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb