Prequal: Travel to Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito » Historical Center
April 2nd 2012
Published: April 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

There was so much of this trip I couldn’t plan for or control. Traveling with Kenny on his first airline flight was the first hurtle. He was pretty happy being pulled around in his carrier (remind me of this when he’s too old to walk well) and the security people could not have been nicer. Then I met some nice Canadian/Ecuadoreans (what Canadians aren’t nice) with two kids who adored Kenny and he ignored them while he cleaned the airport carpet of crumbs.

I then gave Kenny enough Xanex to put down a grown man, but a 14lb dog??? No. The flight attendant at the gate was a witch and forced Kenny to be zipped up completely, which he did not take well. Thank goodness once we got on the plane the rest turned a blind eye to him sleeping in my lap. Regardless, it was a stressful four hours trying to keep him asleep or at least quiet. I’m not sure what kind of drugs I’ll need to get him to Europe.

My flight arrived an hour late, but the international gates were world class and customs and integration were crowded, but seamless. Then the trouble started… Where
Kenny under seatKenny under seatKenny under seat

Mom this is NOT cool!
was the person from the hotel with my name? Nowhere to been seen. What was the address? Well I’d never been given a clear address. Phone number? I’d left that on my stupid Crackberry in Miami. What to do? Canadians to the rescue! They were able to translate that I needed a safe hotel for the night that took dogs. I would figure the rest out in the morning… and Saint Jacquie would save me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb