Back in Ecuador...


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito » Historical Center
May 16th 2011
Published: May 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Buenas noches..

My third day in Quito is almost coming to it´s end - I am back in Ecuador and love it :-) Although it´s really cold here too (it´s winter) but at least during the day it was mostly sunny and you didn´t need to wear a jacket. As I only arrived on Saturday I didn't have too much time for things to do but as I met those lovely Colombians (two guys from Bogotá) in the plane I already had some company for the evening ;-) I was too late at the place (Plaza Foch, the main meeting point with loads of bars and restaurants here in the center of Mariscal, the new part of the city!) so I met some other people and had a drink with them. But later I had a look again and ..tadaaa..found them and had a very entertaining evening - their boss was coming too and I´ve never seen guys dancing in a club like them - to EVERY kind of music and really good. :-D On Sunday I went with Sasha (a girl from California) to Otavalo, which is on of the main attractions near Quito - the indigenian markt where they sell handcrafts..(scarfes, jewellery, hammocks, bags..) very beautiful stuff and we spend too much money. Also I don't have any space in my bag pack anymore :-S Anyway, this morning I went to the (very sophisticated) supermarket - actually Quito is really modern and european already - where I bought the most strange fruits ever - sweet cucumber and taxo (the latter is quite ok, similar to Maracuya but the cucumber thing is ..something needs getting used to There are so many fruits in South America..but I will try to eat them ALL!!! :-)
Tomorrow I´m heading to the Cotopaxi National Park, stay in some Ecolodge for the night and take (hopefully) some photos of the Cotopaxi and then I´m off to Baños where they have hot springs and loads of extreme sports to do. At the end of the week I will take the bus to the coast - Montañita and the beach - I´m coming!!
Will have a beer with the guys from the hostal now...

Hasta pronto! xx Abrazos

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb