This week brought to you by the letter H


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Otavalo
February 9th 2007
Published: February 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In the Spanish, the H is never actually pronounced, therefore not of much use. Hence, my week is brought to you by the letter H.

Very uneventful week, I showed up to teach on Monday only to be informed classes would not be held because of some teachers´meeting. I promptly got back on the same bus I arrived in to return to Otavlo to take care of some errands.

On Tuesday the bus I usually take in the morning never arrived, the other teachers weren´t particularly suprised, one shrugged and said ¨It sometimes happens.¨ I eventually tracked down a later bus, which had me arriving at school about 3 hours late. However, I finally made it to class only to find the vast majority of my students missing because of a soccer tournament. So, on the fly I made up some some basic review games, ditto for Wednesday. Thursday I watched a couple games of the soccer tournament, before returning to Otavalo for my Spanish class. Friday I did not have to teach because of another teachers´meeting, this time in Quito. While I did not in fact cover any new material with my students, I am starting to get ahead with my lesson plans.

My major excitement for the week came on Wednesday morning, where I found myself carreening across the mountainside, slipping and sliding through the fields (all of which are on hills) while I helped the family chase down a loose cow. A close second for entertainment was chasing down chicks (the baby chicken variety, not young women) with the kids, and putting them into a box for the night so they would not freeze to death.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb