Day 6 – Mindo to Quito - pictures to come


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Mindo
December 18th 2010
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I had a terrible nights sleep. It has done nothing but rain since I got here. The bird watch trip didn’t happen due to the rain. Last night I was kept awake by the rain on the tin roof, the dirty musty feel of the room and the sheets and the noise of someone walking downstairs. At one stage I thought if I could jump a donkey to get out of this place and back to Quito I would do that. It is so horrible here. Every time I do fall asleep I have nightmares and end up awake again. So I decide to listen to my Spanish tutorials. Spanish Vocabulary one. The tutorial starts of “how do we say horrible in Spanish, That’s right horreeeblee, now

Now how do you say “I want to get out of this place now!"
Say no more

Well I think I’ll try some music…that’s better. So onto Songs of India - Ravi Shankar.

So after a nice breakfast I decide I need to get outa here now. So I try to catch a cab (anyone) out of town, not easy leaving this town when you want to. No one is leaving except me it would seem! After 45 minutes of trying, an old lady asked if I wanted taxi up the hill I said Si. She called on her phone and a guy in a pickup appeared and I got the taxi out of town. At the top of the hill I waited 15 minutes and got on the bus back to Quito. After another experience I eventually get back to the Quito hostel revolution and shower, wash my hair and feel much better.
An uneventful afternoon resting and clean.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb