Sunday Suprise


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Cayambe
July 9th 2007
Published: July 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone. On Sunday my family took me to Cayambe in the north of Ecuador. It was a three hour drive and they wouldn´t tell me what was going to happe when we got there. Along the way I got clues because we met up with good firends of my parents that had a truck carrying 12 bulls. Then we got to a plaza in the middle of the city and stopped. I finally figured out that we were going to see a bull fight. Around the plaza were platforms that you have to climb up ladders in order to sit on them. Littl did I know that we were one the platform with the best view. It was the VIP platform. Apparently my parents friends own the buls and therefore are the main contributors towards the event so we got the royal treatment. It was an amazing view. Also, I tried hornado (roasted pig with all these vegetables) but I didn´t really like it so I went and asked for chicken (it was good and free for anyone on our platform). It was a crazy sight. Anyone that wants to go into the ring to fight the bulls can and some people did get hurt and maybe even one person got killed. It was an amateur bull fight but there were also some professional bull fighters in the ring. I like the bull fighting here better then in Spain because after the fight is done they don´t kill the bulls. Also, at the bull fighting I really started to feel like my host family has made me there son and brother. My father offered his left hand so I could shake it with my left hand. He explained to me that he only offers his right hand to his children and the very few friends that he is really close to. He said that the lefthand is closer to the heart and symbolizes trust, honor, respect, and love. Tomorrow I leave for the Oriente (jungle) and we stay in this really nice hotel for 4 days (we can´t go really far into the jungle because it isvery dangerous). The hotel is La Casa del Suizo and it is located above the Quechua Indian village of Ahuano along the riverbank of the Napo River. I need to go and wash my clothes and pack (hopefully I have a medium sized bag with me because after a 5 and a half hour bus ride we have to take a 20 minute canoe ride to get to the hotel). Well I have to go now.

Lot´s of love,
Jacob

Advertisement



9th July 2007

WOW
Jacob--what a great time you are having. I lookk forwart to reading your blog. it is ahilight of my day. Love, Nana
9th July 2007

great stories. pyro grandma sounds like a fiesty lady. can't wait to hear about the jungle.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb