Saying goodbye to Cayambe


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Cayambe
February 26th 2007
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oswaldo, Blancita and SebastianOswaldo, Blancita and SebastianOswaldo, Blancita and Sebastian

Night out on my final weekend in Cayambe.
After almost 2 months in Cayambe it was very hard to say goodbye, both to the children in the schools and to the wonderful family I had been staying with.

The final days in the schools were all a bit frantic, due to a mixture of English exams and unpredictable but frequent rehearsals for important processions the following week. The evenings were frantic too, with a stack of corrections - why did I make those exams so long??? However, on my last day in Escuela San Luis de Guachalá, the seventh graders surprised me with a farewell party, for which they had prepared a dance to a song with lyrics in English. In my other school (Escuela Antonio de Alcedo) the second graders, after an almost perfect rendition of “Head Shoulders Knees and Toes”, treated me to a series of children’s songs in Spanish complete with actions - then just about strangled me with hugs. For photos of the children in both schools, see my previous entry.

On my final Saturday night I went with Oswaldo, Blancita and Sebastian to a peña (a traditional bar where there is live music). Before the acts came on I was tempted
With JavierWith JavierWith Javier

who was about to serenade me, and later proposed
by some karaoke and managed to find a Beatles number to perform. Was really wishing I’d learned something to sing in Spanish, as the English lyrics generated a bit of a puzzled muttering round the room. Guess I was the first “gringa” to sing in there then! Soon afterwards, the real music kicked off and the dancing started. It was a great night, with lots of local music and a packed dance floor. Half way through the night I was serenaded on stage by a young man called Javier who later proposed to me in front of Oswaldo and Blancita. (He called me the next day to apologise for his drunken behaviour!) I think Blancita was quietly disappointed that it didn’t result in a “yes” - she doesn’t understand why I’m not married yet, "especially given I know how to cook"!

The next day I headed into town to say goodbye to the other members of the family who had all made me feel so welcome during my time there. I had also promised Blancita and Oswaldo’s great-nephew Michael a game of football a while back, but there had not been an opportunity, so (despite being a bit tired from the exertions of the night before) today was the day.

Later, Blancita and Oswaldo, and their children and grandchildren, organized a farewell party for me, complete with cake. It was a very emotional farewell - let’s just say I kept the sunglasses on!

After a slow start on Monday morning (I really didn’t want to leave), Blancita and Oswaldo saw me off on the bus and I headed back to Quito, excited about the prospect of traveling, but still very sad to be leaving behind the good times and the new family I had gained in Cayambe.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

On top of the worldOn top of the world
On top of the world

On "La Bola" - the monument to the equator just outside the house
Blancita and Oswaldo...Blancita and Oswaldo...
Blancita and Oswaldo...

outside the house


Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0907s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb