Galapagos continues


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
September 19th 2006
Published: September 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The arrival was quite scary, approaching Isla Santa Cruz at about 200 metres high (it felt like the wing tips were going to skim the water) as the runway is right on the edge of the Island was a bit frightening. Had to drive through the centre of the Island to get to the south where we were to catch a speed boat for 45 mins (I just had to focus on the Island behing us for the whole time and I couldnt speak with anyone in case I was sick!) to catch up with the boat, Angelique and the rest of the group (remember I was a day late because of the flight cancellations).
So first stop Floreana Island, the first thing I saw were flamingos then manta rays, crabs, marine Iguanas, sea lions and a few yellow warblers, all on the first day! Got back to the boat Angelique, well it wasnt exactly like it is in the pictures but nonetheless it was nice and cosy and the crew were very friendly (probably expecting a big tip at the end!). Food was excellent and we all sat round a big table in the evenings talking to people from, France, Italy, Germany, USA, Switzerland and Holland, and guess what language we all spoke? The international language, English! so I was right at home feeling confident that I could converse with everyone! (an unusual feeling up until that point as I had been struggling to say more than a few words in Spanish to anyone that would listen!) That night I sat up on the front deck star gazing till late at night, so late in fact I was awoken by another passenger who thought I might like to get some sleep in my cabin!
Next day and we were at Isla Espanola, and it was my first chance at snorkelling. Well, Ive always been afraid of the sea so what better way to overcome my fear than getting in the sea! And it was easy! so easy and amazing to be swimming with all the marine life, even swam next to a turtle which was moving so effortlessly through the water, it was amazing (I may have worn that word out by the end of my blog!) although I was really hoping not to see a shark.
In the afternoon we were off to another Island Santa Fe for a couple of hours walk. I was so close to the sea lions, they were unafraid of humans, I could even see one sea lion that had just given birth and a couple of hawks? I think they were watching and trying to eat the placenta. Lots of cacti and iguanas on the walk and then after it was another snorkelling adventure. I was gaining more confidence in the water and enjoying the experience even more, seeing the starfish on the bottom of the sea bed, sea cucumber (apparently there a delicasse in some places?) and hundreds of different multi coloured fish, I was able to swim through shawls and they would dart away!
Back on the boat and the scenery was breathtaking the water was so calm and the sun starting to set, it was a very tranquil place.
Next day and another Island, saw lots of boobies everywhere! OK, Blue footed, Red footed and Masked boobies. It was so great to be able to stand within a metre or so of these birds and for them not to act any differently. I watchd for some time the mating ritual of the blue footed boobies, very funny watching the behaviour and listening to the different sounds it made! Also saw frigate birds with there big red pouches (I dont know what the correct term is) sitting with there young close by.
OK, I think I could go on and on but some of the highlights for me where swimming with the turtles, penguin (only saw one at that time), and the sea lions which were extremely agile in the water. They would swim straight towards your face and you would flinch and put your hand up to protect yourslef thinking they would swim into you but then right at the last minute they would do an almost impossible u bend. One of them started nibbling on my flipper (no jokes please!) and I could feel its whiskers on my leg.
One night after dinner, I was looking overboard, as the sea was lit up by the lights from the boat and I noticed 2 sharks swimming around the boat. That was so amazing, we all sat around the deck of the boat for hours that evening watching the different wildlife in their environment. Pelicans were looking for fish and sometimes mistaking the shark for fish and then getting a big shock!
Another great experinece was walking on one of the Islands that had erupted 100 years ago leaving the lava flow. You could see the ripples and the patterns of how it flowed, and to see life growing there today, not much, but sometimes the occasional lava cactus which looked so out of place.
The whole experience was amazing and very unique, seeing so many different types of birds, animals, reptiles, marine life and of course the amazing landscapes. And spending 7 days 6 nights on a boat (although I did feel sick at times when the sea was rough) just added to the whole experience.
After returning to land, I stayed in Puerto Ayora for a couple of more days to explore the beaches and the giant tortoises, which was so great to see them in there natural habitat, just walking around munching through vegetation, fantastic!

Next stop Cuenca...



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



20th September 2006

Nice pair!
Love the boobies and all the other wildlife. Keep it coming!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb