Eruption Hunters!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
December 10th 2005
Published: December 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have been under a bit of pressure from friends and colleagues telling me to start a blog. I wonder what do guys want to here from an Iguana man like me!

Recently Iguanas and Tortugas (meaning the giant tortoises) had a hard time in Isabela Island. It is almost a month now since we had volcanic eruptions of Sierra Negra. Flocks of journalists from various countries came to shoot the eruption. It was no surprise to see journalists in a situation like that, but seeing professional eruption hunters was one thing I never thought of.

A whole new profession of eruption hunters has been there for years, but only last month after encountering one eruption hunter, I learnt about the profession. These are the guys who will spend every penny to arrive in time for eruption. But spending money is just one aspect, the extent they are willing to risk their lives and breaking all the rules in order to get the best shot is something I could only relate to sky diving!

So Guys keep chilling, I will keep you posted once again soon!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb