My wish has come true!


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Santa Cruz townSanta Cruz townSanta Cruz town

Loved walking around here.
I'm sure when everyone thinks of the Galapagos Islands they get images of giant tortoises appearing in their head. And so did I until........

I discovered that they have flamingos here as well!!! So while I have nothing against spending swags of money to get to the most controversial island in the world to see strange creatures living very comfortably next to humans, it is when I found out this information that it became even more worthwhile. I have been wanting to see flamingos ever since I was 'knee high to a grasshopper' and saw a flock of them on the TV a million years ago. Problem was, I didn't know where in the world they lived and really just fluked finding them here!

By the way, it's not just the distance and the money to see these creatures that you have to conquer, but there are some real physical challenges as well.

For instance, to get to Santa Cruz from San Cristobal you need to catch a boat. Not so bad you say? unless it's a speed boat the size of a bottle top that is filled to the max with people, not enough life jackets and
Some new friendsSome new friendsSome new friends

We thought we were very brave on our first dingy ride. By the end of the tour....it was nothing!
a swirling sea!!!! Got a different perspective now I bet? While there is a plane from San Cristobal to Santa Cruz to eliminate one boat ride, boats are the ONLY way to island hop and see the different landscapes/animals that are unique to each island. Problem is, after you have experienced one horrific boat ride, the thought of going through it again and again, and again is not very appealing and..... as I looked out my window to see what sort of day was heading my way, saw the trees swaying and white caps in the distance, I knew I was in for another rough boat trip - and I have the bruises to prove it. Literally, a bruised back, bruised knee and a bruised nose bridge! Mind you though, I was much better off then several passengers who simply stayed green and threw up for the entire trip.

I had arrived at Santa Cruz round 5.30 with no where to stay. Yep, becoming pretty cavalier in my attitude and it is paying off! Flipped a coin on which direction to head down the street with my backpack and found the Francis Drake hotel. The original asking price of $55 was very quickly negotiated down to $30 when I headed in the direction of the door. The room was very clean (with cold shower) and I left the key at reception (very important point) to get the lay of the land, find somewhere to eat and book some tours. The hotel recommended a tour place and as they are all pretty much the same I went with that and booked my Saturday to go and see Isle of Bartolome, starting at 6.00am. Then I wandered down the street in the opposite direction to look at all the souvenirs and discover somewhere to eat. Of course it started to rain, but that didn't deter me as it made me go and look in a shop full of paintings. OMG! they were so beautiful and full of colour. The detail was brilliant and then I saw it....... my flamingo.....and I just wanted it!! But not being an impulse buyer....well not all the time....I just enquired on the price and whether they took visa. Figured if it was still there after I saw the real thing and I still wanted it - it was meant to be. Decided I was very hungry by this stage as it was 8.00pm, so headed back towards my room and discovered a street full of restaurants and felt like I had been transported back to Thailand! It wasn't particularly busy (probably because it was still raining!) and I made my way to a middle restaurant. They all displayed the fresh fish, lobster etc so I ordered concha (shellfish) and a beer (which is actually 3 beers due to the size of the bottle). Enjoyed myself so much decided to have another beer (x 3) and that got me talking (weird huh??) to the family who ran the restaurant. Wandered back to my room (no I didn't get lost Mum & Dad!) at around 10 pm and to my amazement, no one was at reception to give me my key. Why this amazed me I can attribute to the beers, that I wandered around looking for any sign of life, yelled out, went to the front and pushed something that looked like a buzzer and then started to get cranky I can attribute to forgetting that I'm in Sth America! Fortunately the manager turned up (with a towel wrapped around him???) to give me the key and the wifi code. Had only booked for one night, as I had planned to talk with people on the tour before rebooking at the Francis Drake (which wouldn't be a problem, as I'm sure I was the only one there!)

The tour was spectacular! It was a large boat and while the swell was still strong, it was no where near as scary. The food was sensational with our midday snack made up of tuna and salmon sushi and this amazing dip we all demanded the receipe for. I got to see lava rivers, the top of a volcano underwater, penguins swimming along side us while we snorkeled, marine iguanas, lava iguanas, sea lions, dozens of fish and met lovely people. Alyce (another Aussie) and I decided to buddy up so I could stay with her at the hostel (ahh finally a plan that works!)and she at the homestay with me back on San Cristobal. Cristian and Luna were some germans that were staying near us and we caught up with each other that night for dinner. The next day we went our separate ways with me heading off to Isle Isabella for another boat ride. This one was definitely of the roller coaster, slamming variety and it was full of kids with a couple of them going green to boot! The weather was not so fantastic with a lot of drizzly rain that prevented me from seeing the entire view at one of the lookouts. The good thing was, I was the only one with a raincoat to keep me warm while everyone else shivered (see daggy photo for proof). I had a wonderful personal guide in Milton as I was the only English speaking passenger. Worked out wonderfully as I could ask all those annoying questions without holding up a group. So on this trip I saw giant tortoises, marine iguanas, sea lions, the view and yes, the most fantastic thing of all ...... flamingos!!! Will let you see the pictures as words can't describe how beautiful they are. There were only 5 but I would have been happy to see just one. On the trip back one of the crew kindly videoed the waves and currents so that I wouldn't forget how wild it was....as it that was going to happen!

That night the four us had a craving for pizza and balanced that nicely with a couple of pinacoladas. Went to check out the sharks that swim around the lighted pier and that's where we saw him! Us three girls were instantly swooning! He was just hanging out minding his own business but we couldn't help trying to get his attention. He had that sleek, well built body, brown/silver hair that was so well groomed, that suave charisma that just oozes a magnetic pull. We couldn't help but nickname him 'George' after Mr Clooney. Alyce, I'm sure you will never forget him, as you were easily the most smitten! Unfortunately, none of us got to talk to him, but it was great conversation for then next hour for us girls....sorry Chrisitian!

The next day we all parted company again however I knew that Luna and Alyce were heading to San Cristobal so.....thank goodness for FB! We sorted out meetings (which of course didn't work out the way they were intended due to messages not being received in time!) and I headed off on yet another boat ride, before the last boat (uuuugghhhh!) ride back to San Cristobal.

As I hadn't seen any blue footed boobies (look them up if you haven't heard
Swimming with penguinsSwimming with penguinsSwimming with penguins

much more fun than sharks!
of them before and no......they are not very cold women!), decided to go on a bay tour the next morning before braving the seas to get back to San Cristobal. That sounded pretty safe and Milton had taken me to the company he worked for so I could get a good price. So...yeh...my lost in translation happened again....... I thought I would be on a big boat but turns out it was a small boat and not even a speed boat. I just put my faith in the captain because otherwise I would have been screaming the whole time. Good news was that I got to see the blue footed boobies, swam in the lava fissure, saw more sea lions and sea iguanas and generally had a great morning. Then it was time to go back....uggghhhh...the thought of it was depressing and then..........lo and behold we were put onto a huge boat (in comparison to the one I had just got off) with 20 plus people, a boat engine, mechanical gear, and loads of luggage for the 2 1/2 hour trip back. It wasn't as bad as the last 2 boat rides I had been on, but it still didn't stop people from throwing up. One girl at the back was absolutely drowned by the waves clambering all over her! Her father later explained it was better than having her get seasick but I don't think she would have dried out for days in this humidity! But, we arrived safe and sound at 5.30pm and I trudged the 20 min walk back to my family to find that Alyce had not been able to contact them for directions and would stay in a hostel. Eventually we had her sorted and she had a wonderful night with my beautiful adopted family (mind you though, we were late for dinner....yep you guessed it.......pinacolades!) All in all a wonderful vacation, on my vacation, LOL!

In between waiting for Alyce to grace us with her presence (sorry Alyce if that sounds a bit harsh, hehehe!) I was invited to visit the family farm. Miguel and & co drive 10 mins every night after work to spend a couple of hours in their organic garden, planting, weeding and digging. It is not huge but there is such a lot of work when you have soil that is mostly made up of volcanic rock and
Bit of a walkBit of a walkBit of a walk

but it was definitely worth it!
gravity fed water that is put into containers to water. I felt so privileged to share this activity with the family and even though I wasn't given any gloves or boots, (uummmmm, bit dirty on that one.....get the joke???....hahahah!) the ride back on the motor bike is another one of those unforgettable memories, as Marisol and I raced against Miguel and Areal on their push bikes. They were actually beating us at one stage because I kept saying, "go slow!!!!!". We did arrive safely and the next night the 5 of us (Alyce was now part of the family YAY!) played a card game .... for money that I won!!! It's not complicated, but so quick and fun I will be converting you all, so watch out!

I spent the next 3 afternoons working on my tan, but using 100plus sunscreen is seriously slowing the process down so thinking that I will visit the tanning place before I land in Melbourne! Caught up with Luna on one of those afternoons and we will be going to look at several tourists spots on the island with Marisol and Areal on Saturday, including a beautiful sandy beach - imagine that!???
Still got my glam on...Still got my glam on...Still got my glam on...

wearing the latest styles in lifejackets....well on the Galapagos anyway.

Sunday is my last day on the island and I fly out at 12.30pm. Friday was my last day with the kids at my school. It has been a very challenging but enjoyable 3 weeks and I will share some thoughts and pictures on this in my next blog. For now, check out the pictures of what a truly amazing place this is......



PS: Yep..... I bought the painting and met the artist who only works there on Sundays so I how lucky was I !!! Totally meant to be 😊))))


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

Trust me!Trust me!
Trust me!

It was really, really, really rough!
Just love this photo...Just love this photo...
Just love this photo...

when you see how faraway I was you will understand the slight blur.
So lucky!So lucky!
So lucky!

The sparkles were just right mixed with the reflection.


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb